5 books for people who don't usually read

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Heyy Steemers, I thought I'd make a list of books for people like me who don't find it nearly immposible to find good books and to get stuck into reading them. All 5 books got me hooked from the start and I downloaded all from the Kindle app on my android app on my Android phone.

  1. Jpod by Douglas Coupland

Capture+_2018-05-10-13-16-24.png

This is my all time favorite book . I found it in a book exchange in a backpacker hostel in Thailand over 10 years ago and I've read it 3 times! It's just so random and funny once I start reading it I just can't put it down. They made a TV series based on the book, but it doesn't do the book justice. I've tried reading other books by Douglas Coupland, but I just couldn't get into them. The funny thing is that from the amazon reviews that I've read, people seem to think that this is one of Coupland's weaker pieces work!? But it's the only one that I've really enjoyed.

  1. Shit my dad says, by Justin Halpern

Capture+_2018-05-10-13-16-24.png

I accidently downloaded a sample of this book when I downloaded the Kindle app, I'm glad I did because it's hilarious! I never thought that I could burst out load laughting while reading, bu this book did it to me many times. It's also a heart warming story about the bonding between a father and son. Awsome read!

  1. The Unfortunate death of James Douglas O'flaherty

Capture+_2018-05-10-12-51-57.png

I stumbled upon this one in a Facebook post, it was written by a friend of a friend of a friend in Sydney, Australia. It's very self reflective, funny, a little sad and encourages you to stop procrationating with your life and achive your goals and live your dreams. My only complaint is it is a little long in the middle and could probably do with 1 less chapter, but the start and end are awsome.

  1. Welcome to Hell: One Man's Fight For Life Inside The Bangkok Hilton, by Colin Martin

Capture+_2018-05-10-12-54-56.png

I read this whole book in 1 day, I just couldn't put down. I'm a real sucker for these type of locked up abroad stories, I alot like another of my favorite books not on this list, Martching Powder. It a true storie of the terrible conditions and courption of a Thai jail, where the author spent 7 years.

  1. Root for the Villain: Rap, Bullshit and a Celebration of Failure, by J-Zone

Capture+_2018-05-10-12-57-04.png

I love the concept of this book, It's the autobioghy of a hip hop musician who never succeeded. His lastest album so sold 48 Copies! However thats not to say that J Zone sucks, he is very highly regarded among his peers and hip hop legends, such as Biz Markie, Cee lo Green, Dangermouse ... And is often claimed as your favorite producer's favorite producer. I think we can all relate to being the underdog and no one appriciating our tallents. It's funny, a little depressing and very relatable

I hope you guys enjoy these books, I'm trying to read as much as I can these days so if you have any other book recomendations please write them in the comments bellow!

Sort:  

Me dicen sara tomate de Carlos Cauhtemoc autor mexicano

Congratulations @mrfantastik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

you should read this one. after that book, you will hear your brain growing ;=)

harari.png

Thanks Thales! I'll check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49