You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: 'Conjure Wife' by Fritz Leiber

in #books5 years ago

I own a copy of Conjure Wife, as its showed up in numerous "Best Horror Novels of All Time" lists, but I've yet to sit down and plow through it. Sadly for it, your review has done little to whet my appetite to do so.

I'll not cross it off my list all together, but there are other books that have probably moved up in front of it. :)

Sort:  

I don't think you would like it, but it's probably worth reading just for the understanding of the evolution of modern horror. It's relatively short and can be read in a couple/three sittings.

One thing I found amusing: there's a dark spirit called "He Who Walks Behind" mentioned briefly in the book. Now we know where Stevie got "He Who Walks Behind the Rows" in Children of the Corn.

You know, just knowing that makes me want to push it back up a few places in the TBR pile...thanks, ya big jerk! LOL! :)

LOL! That's not the only thing Stevie lifted from an old horror story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92