You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Book Club Dives Into the Mind of James Joyce: Session 1 Recording, plus Call-In Details for Session 2

in #books8 years ago

Hi all

I couldn't find a post for the second call which would have been on Monday. Did it take place? I would like to hear it. I'll try and get on a future call, but it's at 2am here in the UK on a work night, so tricky! This forum might be the only place I can contribute.

Thought I would share my experiences so far with the book. I listened to the first call which was good for a general understanding and context. I didnt have the book at the time of listening, so it was a bit hard to follow it without seeing it written down. Once I bought the book (not exactly the Gabler edition but uses the same line numbering system as Gabler) I read the first chapter.... and really struggled with it!

Then I read two sets of notes online, first the SparkNotes that people have referred to, but also the Cliff notes which are more detailed and focus on different elements (https://www.cliffsnotes.com/literature/u/ulysses/summary-and-analysis/chapter-1). Then I went back and re-read the chapter, really slowly! And this time I understood it quite well.

My personal thoughts on it... I find it amazing how much he fits into one chapter, it's so dense! When you start to really unpick every sentence, there is a lot going on. And on top of that, there is zero exposition. He knows it will be read and re-read, so he doesn't really care about your first impression, it's the the third reading he cares about, which is why it's so hard to digest I think. I find it similar to a new Radiohead album, it only starts to make sense after about the fourth listen.

Not having listened to the call I dont know what the second reading is, but I read the second chapter anyway, and I found this much easier to read and digest on first reading. I think once you've accustomed yourself to his style of writing, it's easier. For example, I didn't find it hard to differentiate between Stephen's internal monologues and his conversations with other people in chapter 2, which I struggled with in chapter 1.

So I cant wait to hear the call and see people's thoughts on it. Will be interesting.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41