5 most mysterious books in History

in #books8 years ago (edited)

“So many books, so little time.” - Frank Zappa

I do agree with Frank on that one, there are too many books to read in the few years we have on earth. However there are books and books.

The list I’m about to show you is consists of 10 books, that are completely different from what you might have in your amazon basket. At least in mine…

Without further due, here is the list:

1: The book of Soyga

Currently in the UK, this book is made of 197 pages.

The book is full of information on spells, astrology, demonology, other kinds of magic and other such topics.

Some people say with was actually given to Adam himself by angels.

The first owner that we know of, was John Dee a “wizard” who was a close advisor for Queen Elisabeth the First. And was credited for having 3000 books in his personal library. (John Dee was a monster of a human being and is part of the inspiration for James Bound, he was the original 007, but that is another story for another time)

The book vanished after his death and suddenly appear in 1994 in the British Library.

2: Rohonc Codex

This is a particularly interesting one…

The book consists of 448 pages full of text and illustrations.

So far nothing out of the ordinary… but get this… It is written in a language that to this day has not been deciphered. And the symbols used on it are 10 times bigger than in any known alphabet in History.

Not only is the language unknown but so is the author. Nobody knows who wrote it…

It has 87 illustrations about battles, religion and other things.

It was discovered in the 19th century in hungry and since then several attempts to translate it have been made and they all came out with totally different versions.

You want to give it a try, here is a free Pdf download of the book… and who knows you might be the one who solves this mystery. (And if you do, please share it with the rest of Humanity)

http://www.holybooks.com/rohonc-codex/

3: The Great Omar

This one is considered by some people to be cursed.

Here is why:

The first version of the book was onboard of the titanic and in consequence found it’s way to the bottom of the ocean…

A second version was made and as soon as it was completed London is bombed and the book destroyed.

40 years later a third version is made and the owner dies… after that the book was given to the British Library.

4: The Ripley Scroll

This one could be called “Ripley’s journal”

It is some what of a diary of this alchemist, as he was travelling across Europe. A curious thing is that he was not sight seeing nor meeting the locals nor try the local cuisine… is interest was in finding immortality.

The book is also a collection of spells and it is rumoured to have the Philosopher’s stone spell, that would give the ability to make gold.

5: The Popol Vuh

A few centuries ago a priest went to a small Mayan village in Guatemala.

Legend as it that he was showed the Popol Vuh, the most important of all Mayan Books.

The texts had extremely advance Astrological since and knowledge, it had many accounts of the world’s and Humanity’s history and many other things.

However many where opposed to the priest. Since it was an extremely sacred in secretive text that he should have not had seen.

Here it is... the 5 books. I will post very soon the second part of the list with the other 5 mysterious books. In the meantime why not Upvote this one…

Hope you liked it.

Sort:  

the Urantia Book, i don't think fits on this list, but it it as good as any science fiction that i have read. it has become a religious text among some. check it out if you have a chance. it is a little crazy. it reminds me a little of Sitchin's Sumerian "translations".

Thanks a lot for the suggestion! I do not know about the "Urantia" book. I will check it out indeed.
The Zecharia's "translations" I have only seen documentaries about it. I haven't actually read his writings, but I will for sure look into "Urantia"

i have read it before and it has helped me decipher a lot from life.Its a great book,probably the best i have read on religion .I dont view it as fiction since from my background as a religious man,i had some of the concepts written therein in my mind. All i needed was something more solid and i got it

I wasn't denigrating it. It struck me as an extended instruction manual for the soul, in the mode of an instruction manual for an appliance. There is an air of dissociation about it, as though it was not written by a human.

I'm not exactly what you might call a religious man, though I was raised and trained to be a minister till I was 19. I think all religion has an element of unprovability, which while not strictly fiction, is not demonstrable fact that can be integrated seamlessly into our personal experiences without some interpretation. The fact that it does contain obvious wisdom should make it more deserving of scrutiny to be sure that it is in line with a solid, functional understanding of morality.

How many years have you read the urantia and tracked the acheological and science discoveries to verify the information contained therin

I don't have an intense interest in it, but I've been watching it off and on for 15+ years, mainly in the context of archeology. I find that verifying the distant past, and tomes of questionable origin is not what I would call certain. It is, however, useful in context to the extent that it can be verified.

I have been reading The Urantia Book since 1976 if anyone cares to discuss the fifth epochal revelation. It is my favorite book. I have been here two months and never saw anyone mention, Urantia, until I did a search this morning. Apparently some are talking about it. Thanks and have a blessed day.

It has been a while since I've read The Urantia Book, and I am not an adherent to any one book. I do enjoy mining philosophies and ideologies for their useful parts. I found The Urantia Book intriguing. It reminds me of some of the antediluvian histories of Sumer, along with somewhat modern analyses of philosophical, religious, and political development in the progression of the human species. I also enjoyed the story of the per-terrestrial, even pre-milky way galaxy history.

I would need to refresh myself on the fifth epochal revelation. Is there any particular aspect on which you've focused?

The revelation of the Thought Adjuster. Sorry, it took a while to reply.

Very interesting! :) You can also add the Voynich manuscript to your list if you have time! :) Look it up!!!

Thanks for the comment! Yes I do know about that book and it is on the second part of this list (It is actually a top 10 books) that I will post soon.

And the Voynich is indeed one of the most bizarre...

Great post. I know of Dee but had not come across the book of Soyga, or the Rohonc Codex, nor the Omar book! And I work my way through quite a number of unusual books annually as you may tell from some of my own blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60065.47
ETH 2420.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46