Books read, early September

in #books5 years ago

Becky Chambers, To Be Taught, If Fortunate. This is a charming novella of extrasolar planetary exploration. The crew works well together while having clear and distinct personalities, the planets are very different and spark different human psychological reactions, it's all very classic SF while at the same time being very contemporary...there is hardly anything that is for everybody, but among SF fans I should think this will come pretty close.

Gavin Chappell, trans., The Saga of Half and Half's Champions and The Saga of Ragnar Shaggy-Breeches and the Yarn of Ragnar's Sons. Kindle. Two more legendary sagas, full of random mythical beasts and great weirdness. I live-tweeted one of them, because the depths of weirdness were inspiring. Hypothetically I am reading legendary sagas as preparation for a project I might be doing (read: will be doing, but when, who knows), but in reality let's all admit that I just love them a lot. Also, as I clarified on Twitter, the first one is the saga of Half's champions, and also of Half himself, not the saga of the champions of a thing you can put in your coffee. Oh, phrasing and punctuation.

Chen Qiufan, Waste Tide. There are certain kinds of books that get translated first, I am noticing, because I tend to read a lot in translation. Maybe this is unfair of me. I enjoyed Waste Tide for what it is, but...I also notice that in the wave of Chinese SF that is getting translated first, the stuff that is fairly traditionally structured and extremely male-focused to the point of being somewhat sexist is getting translated first. So this is interesting in its ideas about waste disposal and intercultural assumptions both inside and outside China, and also there is fridging and minimal use of women's perspectives, and it is basically exactly what you'd expect would get translated early. Which doesn't mean it doesn't have interesting points, just...I'll be glad when there's more variety of what's written in Chinese SF available in English.

Amanda Downum, Still So Strange. This is a collection of Amanda's short mostly-urban dark fantasy, and I had been missing her work, and now here's a bunch of it all at once. Yessss.

Tim Flannery and Peter Schouten, A Gap in Nature: Discovering the World's Extinct Animals. This is a beautiful compendium of extinct animals, each with a description and a painting. Some of them are heartbreaking, and it's hard to predict which.

Sarah Gailey, Magic for Liars. If you've been missing books that center a non-romantic relationship, this one is all about, all about sisters. There is noir detective work around a magic school, and either of those things may push some of your buttons, but for me it was the sister relationship that centered the book's appeal.

Theodora Goss, Snow White Learns Witchcraft. This is substantially fairy tale retellings, but for me the poems were the best part, crystallizations in a few pages of fairy tale extensions and extenuations.

Alix E. Harrow, The Ten Thousand Doors of January. Discussed elsewhere.

Jaime Lee Moyer, Brightfall. Discussed elsewhere.

Malka Older, State Tectonics. The conclusion to a science fiction series about microdemocracies in a high-information society. Basically I would not recommend reading it without the first two, but as a series conclusion I found it thoughtful and thought-provoking.

Sarah Pinsker, Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea. This is a beautiful and varied collection. Highly recommended. Spans length, genre, theme, mood. Yay.

Sherwood Smith, Inda. Reread. I think what stuck out to me on this reread was how much this book was a study in leadership in its different modalities, how to inculcate leadership in people who didn't have it naturally, how to use it for your own ends, all sorts of themes and variations around education toward leadership. I should probably restrain myself from just plowing through the rest of the series.

Pauline Stafford, Unification and Conquest: A Political and Social History of England in the Tenth and Eleventh Centuries. This is a fascinating look at England over the period of the Norman Conquest with an eye to the commonality of culture more than its disruption. Extremely useful if you're doing a thing.

Jane Yolen, A Plague of Unicorns. This is one of those children's books where the adults will have seen the twist a million times, but the crucial difference is in how it's handled--in this case not just deftly but kindly, deeply kindly. And also with lots of apples and cider.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.marissalingen.com/blog/?p=2594
Sort:  

Hi marissalingen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @marissalingen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @marissalingen
This analysis contains a very complete information of several books related to science fiction. It makes me feel that I should look for each one of them to read them and enjoy their history ... Science fiction is not the reading that pleases me, but you summarize and explain it in such a special way that it indicates to me to want to appreciate these stories ... At least I will read one of them ...!
Thank you Marissa, for such a valuable work that you expose and share with all of us.
Greetings from Venezuela!

Hello! A pleasure ♡

Wow if you have read many books this month, reading is important to know what we are talking about, I like to read but I miss the routine, it is a bad habit, you encouraged me to read one of those :D

I like to read original books as there is a lot lost in translation in my opinion. If there is a book that I want to read in a language that I don't understand then I take the translation but it doesn't happen very often.

From this collection I would probably go with Inda :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82