This Is One Of The World's Largest Published Books [Photos]

in #books7 years ago

One thing I like about travelling is the unpredictability attached to it. There is a moment of surprise every single day. For e.g. I would have never thought I would find something like one of the world's largest published books in the laps of Himalayas in Bhutan.

IMG_0381.jpg

Technically, when travelling, I skip all the cliche places such as museums, zoo, park etc., which tourists usually throng to. However, when my guide told me if I would be interested in seeing one of the largest published books, I said yes instantly (I am an avid reader and love books. Morever who would want to miss taking a look at a large published book!)

IMG_0380.jpg

Bhutan - A Visual Odyssey Across The Last Himalayan Kingdom is the name of this book, which was published in 2003. The book is authored by Michael Hawley and published by Friendly Planet. It is supposed to be cerified by the Guinness World Record as the largest book in the world until 2007. It weighs roughly 60 kgs and measures 5x7 feet when opened.

IMG_0382.jpg

Of course, something that cost about $10000 will be locked behind glass.

IMG_0383.jpg

According to information available online, the book costs about $2k to produce and sells at $10k. The money earned from sales is donated to a charity which builds schools in Bhutan and Cambodia.

Pretty great work I must say!

IMG_0384.jpg

Until next time..

If you like my posts, please do comment, share and follow..

If you want to see more photos from my travel, do let me know in the comments...

Sort:  

whoa. I bet that was a beast to print and assemble together. Nice find.

I surely think it does... according to wiki, each image in the book is nearly two gigabytes in size, and each copy of the book requires more than 1 US gallon (3.8 L) of ink and 24 hours to be printed. That's beast right...? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45