You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cult of Alien Gods [review]

in #books7 years ago

H.P. Lovecraft was always on the periphery of my literary to-do list, but I only got around to reading some his works last year. I do quite enjoy his weird horror, the unsettling creativity of the Cthulu Mythos is fantastic, and his influence is clear throughout horror and sci-fi today, particlualry in the Hellboy comics which I also started reading and absolutely adore. But questions of the man's pronounced racism are hard to ignore...

Recently was put onto Thomas Ligotti, whose works follow the same vein of eldritch horror, but apparently far more "thoughtful and compelling" and without the bigotry of HPL (according to Kris Straub, at least). Looking forward to giving him a read.

Sort:  

I've not read Ligotti, and am not really a horror fan in general, though I do like Hellboy. Probably the last horror I really enjoyed was The Sub, part of Thomas Disch's Supernatural Minnesota series. Black magic and black humor in roughly equal parts.
http://beatrice.com/wordpress/2010/11/14/read-this-thomas-disch-supernatural-minnesota/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70