You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still reading Tolkien's The Lord Of The Rings to my children

in #books6 years ago

Ah, LOTR...those stories have a lot of good memories for me. Great choice to read with the kids!

My parents started reading the trilogy when I was pretty young (6, maybe?) - they would put me and my sister to bed and then they would have some small treat in their room while reading aloud to each other.

Of course, we wanted to join in. Our solution was to go quietly to bed and then wait for them to start reading before we'd take our pillows and blankets and camp out in our doorway across the hall so we could hear the story too. I think we got all the way to Moria before we got caught.

After that we were included in storytime.

Other good books we read aloud included "Watership Down", Timothy Zahn's "Conquerors" series, "Turn Homeward, Hanalee", C.S. Lewis' Narnia Chronicles and the Riddlemaster of Hed series by Patricia Mckillip.

Sort:  

That's a great memory and a good story!

My wife read "Watership Down" to our children and they really enjoyed it. We've also ready most of The Chronicle of Narnia. I read some of Timothy Zahn's works when I was a teenager, but haven't read any of his recently. Thanks for the reminder!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58527.16
ETH 2486.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41