You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Read Between the Wines #7: Swords, Sorcery and Epic Fantasy

in #books6 years ago

I'm ashamed to say its been some time since reading a book, let alone my favorite genre of fantasy. The last I read was some Martin and Feist though (but I did not complete the journeys past the one or 2 books.... sacrilege).

Actually, its been decades since playing some D&D!

Its criminal that the older you get the less free time you seem to have for the things you used to love.

Still, at least I watched Legend of the Seeker recently when someone described it as 'like Hercules and Xena' too. It was a little woeful, but fun.

Nice to be reminded of when I could indulge - thanks :-)

Sort:  

hahah yes.. for all my Hercules and Xena comparisons I watched the whole 2 seasons and complained audibly when it was canned!

My problem is if they do Wheel of Time that way.. it wont last through the whole story.. where as GoT style will have everyone in!

Yes but try convincing a network to invest.... actually, scratch that. If GoT is anything to go by, I hope they actually appreciate the worlds already created by the likes of Feist et al, and realise what a treasure trove they could enjoy.

As an aside, I don't know if you enjoy the guilty pleasure of watching Stargate, but if you come across the latest incarnation released in 10 minute episodes for the love of Arioch, avert your eyes! (and ears).

Well Amazon did okay I think with American Gods (But Gaiman is out there!) and Emerald City so there is some hope :)

Anything after Atlantis was criminal :) And even that took me a season to forgive!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43