Top 3 Books I Read In 2017

in #books7 years ago

Top 3 Books I Read In 2017.png

One day Steemit, I'll show you my book collection in detail :)

But just in case you are curious, I'm a huge book worm. It's like borderline addiction levels when it comes to reading...

I got hooked on personal development, marketing, business and success books way back in 2004 and haven't stopped having my nose in a book daily...

O.K. I'm not on Tai Lopez's level of one book a day* but I'm at least finishing a book or two a week.

(Disclaimer - Does he really read a book a day? I mean really?)

Anywho....Look at my boooooooks!

IMG_0340 (1).jpg

(That's 2 of the 7 book shelves I have in my home office and sadly....I'm running out of space to stack more books....)

Every year I post the top 3 books I read over the past 12 months and instead of doing it on my WordPress blog, I decided to do it here on Steemit :)

I hope you all enjoy the quick takeaways from each book and I can start attracting some fellow book worms :)

screenshot-plus1daily.com-2018-01-18-00-17-19-794.png

1. Perennial Seller by Ryan Holiday - Ryan's books have always intrigued me and Perennial Seller was one of his best without a doubt. The main idea behind this book was to create epic products and services that literally 'sell' themselves. The book took readers from the creative process all the way to marketing something extraordinary. If you enjoyed his earlier books like Ego Is The Enemy and Obstacle Is The Way you'll love this one. A fantastic book that I couldn't put down!

screenshot-plus1daily.com-2018-01-18-00-17-42-259.png

2. Top Of Mind by John Hall - I mentioned this book in a post I did a week or so ago on Dtube because this could help you so much build a name for yourself here on Steemit. The book talks about being top of mind to your audience by creating amazing content, interacting with your subscribers / followers and delivering value daily. The more you stay in front of people, they more they look to you for advice and leadership. This is such a huge nugget for new Steemians and a must read to build a popular personal / business brand.

screenshot-plus1daily.com-2018-01-18-00-16-48-350.png

3. The One Thing by Gary Keller - While this book wasn't released in 2017 it was recommended to me by someone I really respect online. I couldn't put this book down! It was that good. Revolving around the premise that you should concentrate your focus on ONE thing at a time instead of trying to be a jack of all trades was a revelation for me. Ever spread yourself too thin? Feel like you are in too many things and losing your mind? This is the book for you! Choose something and become GREAT at it. The results will speak for themselves.

Have you read these books?

What are some of your take aways from it?

Or do you have a book you read last year that really changed your life and you enjoyed? I'd love to hear your reading recommendations...


UpVoteCommentFollow.png

Sort:  

Perennial Seller is pretty good, and sets up a really nice mindset for product/business creation, but by far my favourite book of Ryan's is Trust Me I'm Lying... that book changed the way I looked at the Internet, and how the things we see in our social feeds come to be in our social feeds.

It definitely broke my mind for a little while

Obstacle Is The Way for me....But all his stuff is great. I enjoyed Trust Me a ton as well!

Hah, I think Trust Me just feeds that monster inside me that craves world domination, which is probably why I enjoyed it.

borderline addiction ?? you are addicted period you cannot go past a bookstore without stopping getting a coffee and browse the store. Then you know you are going to buy 2 or 4 books to take home.

Man....Today I ended up at Indigo...And bought a new one lol I guess it's a good problem to have :)

What was the new one?

Gene Simmons new book 'On Power'. Quick little 140 page book. I enjoyed his Me Inc, so figured I'd give the new one a go.

Thanks for the book reviews Jon. Totally agree your product should be good enough to sell itself. Just think about the results you get having a great product on top of great salesmanship. Be visible and focus, I take away from your other book reviews. A guy is never too old to follow such critical, vital advice to success.

Appreciate it man, and thanks for the comments. Oh I'll have plenty of reviews to come in 2018 for sure :)

Hey. Nice review trifecta! I'm going to check a couple of these out for sure. I've been around you long enough to trust what you say in this area.

I'd share a photo of my bulging Kindle, but the effect is sorta lost, you know what I mean? :)

Ha ha ha dude I can't do it. I've tried to read via an e-reader. But I just can't lol Yeah these books were fantastic. Each of them I plan on reading again this year.

On my 'to be read' list....Still haven't dove in but people say this is a must read...

IMG_0341.jpg

It is but I would recommend reading their new one Blue Ocean Shift first. It's a little bit more accessible I think :)

Oh nice, thanks might have to make a trip to the store then today and grab it.

Great recommendations! haha i totally feel you on running out of bookshelf space 😛

I actually saw perennial seller eloquently placed flatlay style on a digital marketers photo on instagram. It's funny because I'm currently listening to the audiobook "how to be everything" by emilie wapnack. (has a ted talk as well!) and her premise is the direct opposite of "the one thing" basically embrace all your skills and don't feel pressured to "niche down". I'm torn between it, since as a multi passionate it's difficult to want to stick to one thing , especially if you thrive with variety 🤔

i'm making use of all my books by sharing insights as well, nice to come across another fellow book worm :) thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the comments :)

Yeah after reading One Thing I started focusing on content creation. Instead of trying to be everything, I stuck with that. However LOL That turned into email writing, blogging, video blogs, live streams and a whole lot more lol

I think when it comes to "One Thing", I took the view that "Some of us are Bransons, some of us are Zuckerbergs". I always have 6 things on the go, and I don't think I could deal with a life where I only ever focused on one thing.

If you're so inclined, you just need to make sure that you're balanced and disciplined... which is definitely a challenge... but the same probably applies if you're doing one thing :)

That's a good point. One could go stir crazy for sure. Balanced & disciplined....That's the key right there! Thanks very much for the comments!

hahah that's hilarious! i know that feeling oh too well. especially in this era of content creation where it's not just about writing but seo, email newsletter, blogging, video and the whole nine yards! you're forced to be a jack/jane of all trades even if you simply want to stick to what you know best :writing.

That's so true. The main aspect of writing seems to be getting it in front of peoples faces.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72