My Favorite Books and Book Series

in #books6 years ago

Hello, my fellow steemians! How are you guys? I hope everyone is okay. I feel like just staying in bed today and reading an excellent book or book series. Don't you feel like that sometimes? I have these days where I wish to do nothing except losing myself in the story that I am reading. I have read quite a few books, and I have quite a few favorites. These are what I want to share with you today, and I will try to explain each one while trying not to spoil anything.

1. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

“Happy and sad, elated and miserable, secure and afraid, loved and denied, patient and angry, peaceful and wild, complete and empty...all of it. I would feel everything. It would all be mine.” ― Stephenie Meyer, The Host


Stephanie Meyer surprised me with this story as I am not a Twilight fan in any way. The story is fascinating and a fresh way to look at an alien invasion of earth. Indeed, this is the first book I have read which tackles the concept of an alien invasion in the alien's perspective. The relationship of the characters was not toxic, and some of them may be a bit emotional but it is not over the top, and you can understand why they feel that way.


2. Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

Death searched for the youngest brother as years passed but never succeeded. It was only when the third brother reached a great age, he took off the Cloak of Invisibility and gave it to his son. Greeting Death as an old friend, they departed this life as equals. ― J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows

Of course, this would be here. Harry Potter has already become a classic piece of literature, and I applaud J. K. Rowling for how she wrote and still writes up to this day. If you haven't read HP series, then I guarantee that you will be transported to a magical world full of twists and adventures. You will follow Harry from his innocent childhood to his maturity as a witch which develops very naturally. (I may or may not post an in-depth article regarding this series.)


3. A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R. R. Martin

“My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind … and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.” ― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

A Song of Ice and Fire is the book series title for the viral HBO miniseries Game of Thrones. George R. R. Martin's mind is full of unexpected turns and twists if the story of A Song of Ice and Fire is any indication. An acquaintance of mine from my old work in the Philippines recommended this to me and the way he phrased it was "You should read this series where the author kills off all the characters that you think is the main one." and my answer that time was "Why should I read something like that?". Time passed, and I forgot about his recommendation and then happened to read the first book of the series without realizing. I became hooked on the story and only remembered the suggestion at the end of the first book.


4. The Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks

“Love is a fragile, corruptible thing. And yet I have seen it evince a curious strength. It is beyond any comprehension. Love is a weakness that once in a great while triumphs over strength. ” ― Brent Weeks, Shadow's Edge

This one is something not for children. Night Angel Series follows the adventures of Azoth, a brutalized orphan fighting for survival in the slums of a city which is controlled by an assassins guild. Azoth realized early on that to protect his life and his friends he has to be ruthless and he decided to apprentice to an assassin. Unfortunately or fortunately for him, the guy who took him on is the deadliest, and he quickly finds out that the most lethal killers are also magicians. This world is brutal, unforgiving, and unapologetic. It will take you to the darkest corners and shove light in the shadiest transactions for you to discover.


5. World of Watches by Sergei Lukyanenko

“How wonderful it would be if everything could always be as clear and simple as it used to be when you were twelve years old, or twenty years old. If there really were only two colors in the world: black and white. But even the most honest and ingenuous cop, raised on the resounding ideal of the stars and stripes, has to understand sooner or later that there's more than just Darkness and Light out on the streets. There are understandings, concessions, agreements. Informers, traps, provocations. Sooner or later the time comes when you have to betray your own side, plant bags of heroin in pockets, and beat people on the kidneys—carefully, so there are no marks.” ― Sergei Lukyanenko, Night Watch

Another dark fantasy series. This time it is about an all-out war between all kinds of supernatural entities and humans that chose to be either the agents of light, the soldiers of darkness, or those in the grey who prefer a balance between the two. In this world, all words and thoughts have the power to become a curse or blessing, the time 11:11 is something magical, and that magic is all around the world and those that have a deficiency of it in their bodies are the ones able to do things with it.


6. Chronicles of the Cheysuli by Jennifer Roberson

The Prophecy of The Firstborn: "One day a man of all blood shall unite, in peace, four warring realms and two magical races." ― Jennifer Roberson, Flight of the Raven

Chronicles of the Cheysuli is an epic tale of four realms and two magical races at war. They have been at war for a long time and all desire peace but don't want their way of life to change. This is mostly the reason why they are still fighting. The cheysuli is a race of shapechangers. They bond with animals they call 'lir' and they can then take the shape of their bonded animal and gain the animals' senses as well as communicate with them. They are the ones who are not afraid to change their way of life just to have peace once again and from them will come the protagonists. Oh, why protagonists in the plural form? Because this story takes place across several generations and the effects of an action taken by someone can have far-reaching consequences further into the story.


7. Codex Alera Series by Jim Butcher

In that single moment, he saw in her the promise of the beauty that would come in time, the strength that had still to grow, the courage and reckless resourcefulness that matched his own and flamed wild and true in her. ― Jim Butcher, Furies of Calderon

This is my favorite book series so far and I am very surprised that not many people have heard of it or that it has not been adapted to the small or big screen yet. Codex Alera brings you to the world of Carna where a lot of races has been lumped together, by happenstance or by design, we can only surmise. The human representatives you will read are from the Roman Empire but Carna is a special place that transformed them and their culture. The humans gained control over the elements. You will follow the adventures of Tavi, who for some reason doesn't have this ability, as he tries to navigate the political scenario, assassination and civil war plots, as well as alliances and hidden enemies. There is a reason why this story/ book series is my favorite and I extremely recommend it. I will definitely do a book-by-book post for this one.


And that my fellow steemians, sum up my favorite books and book series. I am glad I can share them with you and I know that you won't be disappointed if you read any of them. I definitely was not. What is your favorite book or book series? Share it with me in the comments below as I want to find more interesting stories to read. I am already excited about what you will recommend. Until next time!

A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies… The man who never reads lives only one. ~George R.R. Martin

Sort:  

Reminds me of the term book worm..

Yes.. I'm the very definition.. 😊

Which book in the series is your favorite? Mine is Prisoner of Azkaban as I finished reading that book in one day.. 😊

Reading books helps us to learn and exercise our brain.

It is indeed my friend.. 😊

Thanks for sharing your book-choices, I'll put it on my list too.

Read Codex Alera first.. 😊

nice blog... very impormative...:)

Thank you.. Do you have any book recommendations?

thanks for sharing your thoughts on these books.
i love staying and spending time at book shops / libraries.
i've only developed this liking in my late 20's...i didnt like reading when i was in highschool, more of me was into music and dancing.
reading books now seemed to be more calm, gives me so much space for inspiration. thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17