PLEASE STOP: Things I Hate Seeing in Books・ivymuse

in #books5 years ago

Hi Steemians!

Today I'm sharing some things I hate seeing in books! I've done videos about tropes I hate reading about, but this is more about random things I don't really have a proper umbrella term for ;)

What are some things you hate seeing in books, that turn you off immediately? Let me know!

Happy reading!
xx
ivymuse

Sort:  

Amnesia. It's such a sledgehammer of a tool in a writer's box, and somebody better have a damn good reason for producing a protagonist (especially one relating the story from his or her own first-person perspective) with memory gaps that have no reason for existing except that it makes the "mystery" possible.

It's really annoying to see it popping up so frequently in thriller/suspense fiction aimed at women, because come on, y'all deserve so much better than that. Amnesia is the "...but it was all a dream" of story beginnings. You can use it, but you damn well better know what you're doing or you'll break your own art.

Rant off. Loved the video as always, @ivymuse, and I'd be perfectly happy to see your list excised from most works of fiction as well. :)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87