Buried treasures : All you need is a book - Here's my stack!

in #books6 years ago

Well, I think it's quite obvious to most of you, by now, that I'm having a loving, committed relationship with books. Yes, several books, although I try to go through them one at a time, so there's no hurt feelings!
And obviously, being this huge book fan, I couldn't resist when I saw this wonderful challenge, hosted by the lovely @riverflows, to show off your book stack.
I know, summer's coming up soon and you're all getting ready to show off your bikini body and that's good. I'm sure that's beautiful, too, but I've never been one to go much for looks. I'm far more interested in what you're reading, who your favorite author is, all that...says more about you than tight abs.
So, I'm taking up the challenge and sharing with you (part of) my book stack at the moment. First, let's begin by having a look at the book stack.
33720477_1677475372308257_81536127298699264_n.jpg
A beauty, ain't she? A mix of books both read, in process and waiting for their turn. I love stacking up books, don't you? It just fills me with purpose.

1. 'Her Fearful Symmetry'

... which I only recently finished and fell in love with. I first encountered Audrey Niffenegger when I saw the quite popular movie 'The Time Traveler's Wife'. I'd kept wanting to read the book, which she wrote, obviously, but I couldn't find the time, so I just saw the movie instead, loved it and then figured I must read the book.
And somehow, time magically appeared. I raced through it and found it to be something else, in a good way. I always love discovering a good author, a genuinely talented writer, and that's what I found in Niffenegger.
33708928_1677475362308258_3824645746905317376_n.jpg
I then decided I'd be on the lookout for her books and picked this one up in Foyles, last month. And the thing that shines out throughout the book is her talent for words, there's just so much poetry in the way she twists the phrases.

And the characters, my God, they're just created so well, so clearly. I think I was in love with one of them before going through a quarter of the book. There's so much love and loss...she just paints this rainbow of emotions that anyone can identify with, on some level, and she somehow manages to weave them all together into an actually good story.
To give a short summary, it's the story of the aftermath of a death, how it affects the people left behind, but also it's the unfolding of lives, of secrets, of reality. It really had me racing trough it.
However, I will admit I was slightly disappointed with the ending, but that's a matter of personal taste. Nothing wrong with the book (it was great, well written, good story, everything it should be).

So yeah, this is one I definitely don't regret buying.

2. 'The Tombs of Atuan'

33774694_1677475358974925_1549332993024196608_n.jpg
Okay yeah, I know this looks like cheating, but it ain't. Another book that I really loved reading was Ursula K LeGuin's 'The tombs of Atuan', which is the second book in the Earthsea series. I've always had a deep respect for LeGuin, mainly due to her reputation as a master of the craft.
You know that feeling of waiting for something for a really long time and expecting it to be really good and then not being at all disappointed? This was like that.
'The Tombs of Atuan' (as well as the first book in the series, 'A wizard of Earthsea') is the sort of book that just sucks you in, and what I really loved about it, is that it wasn't so much the story itself (although that's pretty great, too), but the writing.
I have this slight obsession with good writing, knowing enough of the craft to distinguish between good story and average writing and good story with good writing. The phrases are richer and you kinda feel like you're dancing with the words.

From what I've read so far, it's the sort of series that rekindles your belief in magic. It's extraordinarily well-written and it's exactly what fantasy should be. A portal into a different world. Highly recommended.
Oh, and the book behind the Kindle (I don't have it in paperback, sadly) is LeGuin's 'Lavinia', which also looks great, but which I haven't read thus far. But the caption on the cover says 'She chose her man and her fate. The price she paid was war'...pretty enticing, no?
Besides, knowing LeGuin's wonderful writing style, I bet I will not be disappointed.

3. 'The Wonder'

33727666_1677475322308262_8676532445631217664_n.jpg
by Emma Donoghue. You might remember Emma, she wrote the book 'Room', which was turned into a masterful motion picture a couple of years back. I personally liked both the book and the film and when I saw this one on the shelves at the local library, I felt I must check it out. And I've just started this one, but since it's supposed to be a book stack of books I'm reading rather than have read, I figured it deserved a place on here.
It's the story of an English nanny who goes to an Irish village to investigate a strange girl, who is considered a miracle – she's not eating, yet she's thriving. Very strange I'm not too far into the book, but I like it, from what I've read so far and judging by Donoghue's style in 'Room', I'm pretty sure it's going to be good.

Bonus - 'The Night Circus'

33920296_1677475338974927_5345944672344735744_n.jpg
Beautiful cover, isn't it? It took me in immediately, I knew it would be good. Well, I hoped it would be better than it was, I suppose.
This was a very strange, very difficult book to place. I mean, the writing style is exquisite, very beautifully painted place and people. And the story, it's wonderfully poetic, throughout, there's so much symbolism, so much...magic.
Because that's what the book is about, essentially, people and magic.

And if you love a good magic trick or story and are into all that smoke and mirrors, you'll probably love this. It's a very strange tale, of love and rivalry and odd happenings. The supernatural, forces as well as mind tricks and the powers of imagination. And there's a particularly beautiful point towards the end of the book that somehow makes it all real.
And yet, as much as I loved the book, it did have two flaws, that to me, were pretty big. First, there were a lot of characters. I'm not one to complain about this normally, but it felt like too much to follow, even to me. And this kind of took away from the main characters, in my opinion. And second, it was a bit too long. I think it would've been an even better book if it was two thirds or maybe three fourths of its' length. But hey, that was just me and I tend to be too impatient, at times, so...
But definitely worth reading, as it's a good fantasy book.
413bb44fe3ce5220564f96fd5fabdf10.png
And that's it for my book stack...the other books in it are unread, yet, and I won't speak for them, as I can't say something good or bad.
I hope you've found something among my books that caught your interest! And I really encourage you to join this challenge, by @riverflows, and share about your own book stack! It's a wonderful way to get to know each other!

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Great book reviewing!
Two authors are not keeping company with me, but the other two I know. I also love to hate a writer, you know.

Loved the film, couldn't abide the book, when it comes to Niffenegger, and then I heard her in an interview, which pretty much was the deal-breaker for me regards any subsequent publications. Goes to show, what a bad-book day can do for an author. Might give this one a try, just to prove myself utterly mistaken in this writer. The thing probably is, her material comes close to mine, hence the critical eye to detail...

Had my fill of "speculative fiction"in Atwood, but Le Guin's reputation surely does precede her, so much so I have her on a pile somewhere in my house. Mainly for her essays on writing, but I believe I have one of her novels lined up in my audio- library. Your recommendation may be the best place to start, why not?

Dr Seuss is the greatest ever.

Indeed, if things had gone a bit differently, maybe you would've liked her, who knows? But then again, maybe you wouldn't have...that's alright too.. out of curiosity, what was so bad about the interview?
As for LeGuin, she's quite different from Atwood... In a good way. I've had some let-downs with Atwood, but never with LeGuin...yet :)

Try the 'Left Hand of Darkness' x

And what's wrong with you darling - how can you have your fill of speculative fiction???? That doesn't even compute for me!!!

Bought the Left Hand today, as audiobook. Hope Guidall does it justice.

Oooh. Would like to hear the audio book. Let me know what you think!!

Fabulous fabulous. Just letting you know I've seen this but am about to sleep.. Will comment in more detail in the morning 💗 plus upvote later too but my VP is superlow right now! X

Oh thank you! I'm glad you saw it...just now realized I didn't link it to your contest! Cheers <3

Ah, Audrey Niffenegger... I absolutely loved 'The Time Traveller's Wife', although I never picked up any of her other work afterwards. Ursula Le Guin is another one who's been on my radar for a while, being a big fantasy fan. Quite a few of these may become part of my current reading list sooner rather than later!

You should, it's really good. Not as good as Time Traveler, but still...It's worth it. I'm glad to hear that I hope they do! :)

Great Dr. Seuss quote! I used to read a few books at once. Now I battle to read two at the same time but can lose myself in books

Ha thanks, I know the feeling - I can't concentrate through more than one book, besides, I feel like some of the flavor is lost on reading more things at once! :D

Nice stack! Definitely need to read some more Ursula K. Le Guin again soon, hopefuly I'll have time to get some quality reading done this summer.

That's a good idea, it's really worth it ;)
And thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52