You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: The Fellowship- The Literary Lives of the Inklings

in #books7 years ago

Well, I certainly enjoy a good bit of history so I'll have to check this out :). Interesting that Tolkien thought he was 'restoring mythology.' His version was certainly colourful 😂

Sort:  

Indeed! It's a pretty enjoyable little bit of (literary) history, you should enjoy it.

Yeah, I've enjoyed reading up about other literary figures (mainly poets like Hughes and Plath) so this sounds up my alley.

If you're into historical fiction in general, I'd highly recommend getting a copy of 'In the heart of the sea' by Nathaniel Philbrick. He tells the story of the whaling ship Essex and its misfortunes. Very interesting. It's supposed to be these events that inspired Melville to write Moby Dick.

I'm super into all things nautical, so I've been eyeing that book for a while- might just jump on it now that I have a recommendation for it!

It's one of all time favorites :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44