You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three Perfect Science-Fiction Books

in #books7 years ago (edited)

What about the third entry? They're all really great!

How do you remember A Fire Upon the Deep? And I hope you're not confusing it with its prequel, A Deepness in the Sky, which is basically the same sort of story, but with 200 more pages of bloat...

BTW, I have Stories of Your Life in both English and in Hebrew, so I could loan the language of your choice to you when we next meet.

Sort:  

I read very little of a deepness in the sky. And I don't read very much, so I don't like to even think about committing to too much.

SPOILERS

I remember a story about an alien race of dog like creatures that communicate telepathically to create a conjoined consciousness. If there are too many within close proximity, they become really stupid. If there are too few, the same.

There is some villain doctor person that is trying to make groups of 7-8 of them to be able to work together and not become super stupid, and be super intelligent instead.

I remember humans introducing radios to them, allowing those groups to maintain their hive mentality while further apart.

Spoilers:

That's something in the book, yeah. That's the kids meeting the alien species mentioned above. The "Scientist" is one of them. And when there are "too many", the problem is their signals get mixed. Yeah. But that's one of the storylines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13