Building our homestead library with STEEM

in #books7 years ago

We've been so blessed by the upvotes all of you have given us and now we are turning that Steem into tangible books to further our homestead knowledge and journey.

Building with Steem

I didn't sign up for Steemit to earn money. Based on my non-existent understanding of crypto, I thought it was a site limited currency, much like in a video game.
I've come to learn that it's not and also that it's a good thing I didn't come for the money because It's not like I'm getting rich monetarily. I'm getting rich in other ways though, I've come to meet some wonderful people and I've learned so much already from them.

A couple of months ago I started to look into getting some Steem out to buy Christmas presents with, but it turned out almost impossible and certainly not worth it with all the fees. Then a good friend helped me out in a win-win deal and I found myself with a good amount of money in gift cards to Amazon. Sadly, no one asked for anything I could reasonably get from Amazon (without having to pay crazy postage fees).

After a couple of failed attempts to find gifts, my husband told me to spend the money on me, and to me that means homesteading books!

Growing a homestead library

I've been working on growing our homestead library for years and for the past year or so I've wanted to round out our library because we had some very obvious holes in it.

If you're interested in what books we already have in our library, you can see them here and here

So far, I've been able to order 5 books fully paid for by Steem. My goal is to grow our library at no (out of pocket) cost to us since our finances are tight and our current focus is our downpayment fund for our future homestead. Thus the Steem has to cover not only the price of the book but the postage as well. I'm going for the cheapest option every time, so some books will be used, but as long as they are in a decent condition I don't care.

The first arrival

I'm hoping all five books will get here before Christmas, they should be here by the 19th but you never know with the various dealers on Amazon.

The first book to get here is one I've wanted to read for years but haven't bought because I'm not at all sure if I will like it or find it useful.

That book is Surviving Off Off-Grid by Micheal Bunker.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've gotten through the introduction and the first chapter and so far it's an interesting read, much in the vein I expected. Needless to say, I won't pass any judgement on it, as I'm only 58 pages into it, but so far so good.

More to come

I have another 4 books presumably in the mail making their way to Denmark as I type this. I also have 28 GBP in gift cards still and hopefully more to come.
I'm debating whether to keep growing our library or to save up for some bigger purchases in the future like a Berkey (which we do not currently have room for) at around 300 GBP or use it for smaller purchases like a gorilla pod (I'm playing around with thoughts on doing some videos of certain projects) or a flint and steel firestarter set and other 'survival-minded' things.
I'd love to hear what you'd do...

Have you used your Steem for anything yet?

Sort:  

We have had a Berkey for almost 10 years, and love it. It is definitely worth making room for <3

They are so big and our place is so small! I know there are smaller ones, but I want a big one. I've only heard great things about them. Which model do you have?

Oh I could spend a day talking about all the books in my prepper and homesteading collection. There is a really good vlogger on Youtube that you may like and he is a no nonsense kinda guy and will tell you straight up about how homesteading should be. His youtube name is "VikingPrepardness" he is apparently a Pastor, but does not let it shine in his vlog. He is retired marine, and just knows the ways of the land so intimately.

Thank you for that recommendation. I'll check him out for sure!
Do spend the day doing just that, let me know all the books you have, the ones you go to all the time, the ones you wouldn't buy again and the ones you think everyone should own.

Denmark, Scandinavia, Europe, planet Earth ;)

That's awesome - I'll check it out later today.

This is great. I am happy to be able to help with this.

I haven't come across the Surviving Off Off-Grid book - I will be interested in your full review when you have finished it.

It's wonderful that you are willing to.
So am I, I've had very mixed feelings leading up to actually opening the book. :)

Oh, books! I love them!
What an excelent way to procure them!
“Will blog for books!” :D
I just posted an article about one of my favorite books, and I’m giving a copy of it away. Check it out if you like.
I saw that you have a few books on wild edibles. I also have a couple, but it seems that most of the plants in them don’t grow in my area. I’m hoping to maybe find one that covers my area more. Or maybe even find someone knowledgeable who can show me.

What a great idea. The books I have are for my country and that helps a great deal in being able to find the plants.

We're currently working on getting out of our apartment and onto a "homestead" in 2018/2019. Definitely bookmarking your book list—thanks!

Partition is bad. But whatever is past is past. We have only to look to the future.

- Mahatma Gandhi

I love adding to my homesteading library. SO many good books out there!

Even for we normally frugal folks, there are just so many things to buy!

Sadly all too true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81