Sort:  

Sorry to barge in on your conversation, but I feel you should start with the first book in the series - The colour of Magic - why miss all the fun when Sir Terry explains what Discworld is! You know, like get a feeling of this place!
Anyway, have fun!

Good call - I forgot that was the first!

Excellent, thank you for the 'barge-in'! I'm 100% new to his work. Fans are the best people to ask where to start. Wikipedia can be a real overload sometimes.

Oh - he's so much fun. Fantasy + humor + social commentary and one of the wisest minds to guide you through it all...

Let's see. I'd point you to this chart but I wouldn't want to you get overwhelmed... hmm... And to be honest I still haven't read many of them...

Equal Rites is a good tale about lovable witches. Or The Colour of Magic for more of a "young-adult" approach. Then there's Mort to start a more philosophical story-line, if you want a more "adult" (but still humorous) take on Discworld.

Wikipedia has a good overview of his fictional universe as well.

But here's how we found him: The wife and I picked up an audiobook of Monstrous Regiment at the public library quite at random, and listened to it on a road trip. The narration and the voices were fantastic, and it threw a ton of great characters at us in a way we found delightful, even though we'd never read anything else by Pratchett before then. We were hooked.

Really, most of his books are pretty good as stand-alones anyway, so you really can't go wrong.

You are a wealth of information - thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I enjoy discovering new reading material of all kinds. (Right now @jschindler and I are reading Atlas Shrugged together.)

I have only one reservation: once I dive in to Terry Pratchett's work, I might be just as disappointed as you are by the posthumous crushing of his unfinished work!

Well, he has over 40 books to enjoy and most of them are worth reading twice.

I have my mixed emotions about destroying that work, but even so, he certainly left the world much richer in stories than her found it.

You've got lots to look forward to. (It'll be a big change from Atlas Shrugged to be sure.

The Discworld books are what made him famous, exposing people to his other works, which then gained popularity as well.
Keep reading!
Be well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31