You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life Lessons from Ben Franklin

in #books8 years ago

Another good post Luke. I am coming to expect this from you. If the day comes you don't have the greatest of posts you've earned many reprieves. :)

As to words not to use when talking. I've also found ABSOLUTES can be triggers for contention. "You ALWAYS say that", "You NEVER do that".
"That will NEVER happen."
"That ALWAYS happens."
"They are ALWAYS wrong."

I try to avoid these (fail sometimes) as they are like a landmine I see. As soon as you say them all the other person needs to do is recall one case where that absolute was not true and they may cease to consider any further points you made.

I've found that absolutes are generally pretty rare. So using them is something people should be careful about. Your quotes from Ben Franklin made me think of the many musings I've had on this.

I usually replace ALWAYS with MOST. I'll replace NEVER with something like RARELY.

This is assuming I notice it and catch it before I blurt it out.

Sort:  

Hopefully I won't disappoint you. :)

Really great point about NEVER and ALWAYS. Those words can be toxic to learning because it can remove the possibility for change. I love Franklin's "It appears to be" and such. I hope I can learn to talk that way even more.

All we can do is try to improve. You as a person are unlikely (not an absolute... did you see that) to disappoint me. You may post something that I don't care for, but you've already got my respect as a person so I follow your posts and will continue to do so. If you get in accident and suffer brain damage, get hit by lightning, and your brain makes a sudden dramatic change it could happen. Yet that is unlikely. :) Keep up the great work Luke.

Haha! Let's hope my brain stays intact. :)

You are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50