You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shrinking Horizons in Hard Science Fiction - Review of The Three Body Problem and Aurora

in #books7 years ago

Thanks - I'v been craving some gritty hard SF for a while now.

My heart yearns for a utopian future where replicators feed everybody and the stars are a challenging adventure...

But my mind can't avoid the very real probability of a dystopian future - where the failures of the past (nuclear weapons; irreversible climate change..) are compounded by the failures of the future. And there is a veritable smorgasbord of fuck ups for humanity to indulge in in the near future alone...

Keep 'em coming!

Sort:  

I'm inclined to agree with you. It's one of the reasons I've decided not to have kids.

On the other hand, what if people actually solve more problems than they cause, and produce more than they consume? In that case, we should be making as many people as we can, confident that we can expand out to the stars.

Thanks for reading! If you give these a try, let me know how you like them!

Thanks - I will :-)

I agree with you regarding your kids comment - except to say that having a daughter was the best thing I ever did. She's 8 now :-)

I salute you! Parenting's got to be the hardest and most rewarding thing a person can do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63626.54
ETH 2727.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56