Is Emma a Likable Character? (Jane Austen`s "Emma" Diskussion)

in #books6 years ago

I will be discussing the novel Emma by Jane Austen including minor spoilers (I limited them as much as possible).
I recommend having read it before or seen a movie adaptation or the web series set in modern day, but I think it will also work without prior knowledge. Enjoy :)

emma_thumbnail.JPG

Some time this month I finished reading Emma with a strange feeling.
Due to reading and hearing things about the book, I have been prepared to dislike Emma and question her decisions, however, no one warned me about how much I would also root for her, despite it all.

Emma has been the mistress of her fathers house since a young age and due to being used to that certain extend of power, limited company of others and limited activity since her father doesn’t like to travel, she meddles in other peoples affairs against their will.
She talks bad about people around her (though I almost feel that’s normal of female protagonist of novels from around that time, since I’ve read e.g. Jane Eyre prior) and believes her wrong interpretation of situations more than the judgement of others. Her trying to influence everybody around her can be frustrating for the reader at times, yet still…

Emma means well, or at least she convinces herself that she does. When she persuades Harriet not to marry Mr. Martin, most readers will see it as Emma keeping Harriet from the man she loves out of vanity, however, Emma sees it as maintaining the chance to get her friend a wealthier, more respectable husband and therefore a better life. And even if I got frustrated when that happened, I have to appreciate the thought behind it.

Especially considering how “modern” Emma thinks for that time period: She is convinced her friend deserves to marry into a higher class, even though Harriet’s class is presumably quite low herself. Emma keeps denying that in front of other people, still I found no evidence that she might not be aware of that.

When Emma says she herself does not want to marry, both readers and characters of the book roll their eyes. First of all, of course she will marry, that is what these kind of books are usually about, and second, she would not possibly sacrifice the happiness of love for keeping the power she has in her household. Yet, Emma does resemble the ideal of the “strong, independent woman” who has no economical nor emotional dependence on marriage in a way, so, can you really blame her for that thought?

Her views on her own freedom and not caring for the class system that much could be enough to make her likeable to a modern reader, but there is still her selfish behavior and lack of the understanding of others feelings.
Emma does put her own need of accomplishment above the opinions and wishes of others without doubt, in a way that made me unsure if she felt bad for Harriet or for herself when her plan to get her a certain man as a husband failed. Especially since Harriet importance in the book fades for a while after that disappointment.

Even though I new Emma’s opinion is often not to be trusted, and even though she is a questionable personality, she was still the point of view character and so I was influenced by her. Jane Fairfax, a young woman Emma does not have a high opinion of, was described in a way that I normally would have sympathized with her, but due of Emma’s dislike of her, I needed a long time to realize that I would probably not share that dislike.
The disregard of class I witnessed before regarding Harriet is gone when Jane’s lack of money is discussed. To me, after thinking about it more, Jane seemed like a nice, but a little shy, young woman. That reserved behavior, however, is mocked by Emma and named of the most apparent reason she does not care for Jane.

The lively but judgmental Emma is not a person I would like to spend time with in real life, still, when she had a hard moment, I also felt bad for her, when she regretted what she had done, I forgave her. Jane Austen wrote her in such a way that I could understand and sometimes admire her motives even though I did not always like them. I think being aware that one’s own actions are not always the most kind and well thought out either did help.

To conclude, Emma is not completely detestable but I would still not call her a likeable protagonist. She does not have to be, though. How she manipulated not only the other characters but also the readers opinions is totally fascinating and inspires thought.

Have you read Emma or seen an adaptation? What were your thoughts about her?
Please tell me in the comments.

Sort:  

Emma is one of those books that really challenges how you think in the face of how you were raised. For me she's more of a cautionary tale than a favorite but still excellently written. Great review!

This post was upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a wonderful and bookfull day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62