Textbooks: Why do I have so many of them? 📔

in #books7 years ago (edited)

I'm about to enter my 3rd year of college this coming Fall, and I have almost every textbook that I've ever bought, dating back to my very first English 28 class. This is a very bittersweet accolade of mine as I enjoy having many momentos to bring up fond memories of nostalgia, but I'm starting to think I have a few too many...
IMG_9004.JPG
That book was $300 or $400 (I forget), and I've hardly even peeked into its pages. My professor said it would be a good book to have in general, but almost all of the questions on his tests were based primarily on his lectures. 😰IMG_9016.JPG
This was one of three books that I read for my Fantasy & Science Fiction appreciation ENGLISH class. It was such a breath of fresh air. I didn't feel like I was racking my brain to understand relatively useless formulas and constructs, and I enjoyed every minute of it. 🙂
IMG_8993.JPG
And here was one of the most challenging classes I've ever had to face. Not only because of the content, but also because it was something which I've never personally desired to learn about so I decided to challenge myself, and step out of my comfort zone. The class was still in its prototype stages, and our professor was unclear about exactly what she wanted us to learn. Because I lacked a Spanish background, many of the words were confusing for me to learn. Teotihuacan is single handedly one of the most confusing phrases that you'll ever learn if you're an English native speaker. It sounds absurdly different from how an American would try to prounounce it. 😭 Whenever I came across it in the readings, I would be completely confused about why we were reading about it for the longest time until she finally got her computer to work and began using power points halfway through the class as opposed to going off of teeny tiny writing on the dry erase board. Over half of the class dropped halfway through, and I finished it with a C. 😭😭😭
IMG_8996.JPG
Here was another novelty textbook that is sure to give any and all onlookers fits of anxiety. To the author's credit, the textbook was very well written and through in its creation. But the challenging thing about it was, you really had to have a base knowledge of physics, and human anatomy and physiology to have a better understanding as to why all of these chemical reactions occur the way they do. Chemistry was the first science class I ever ventured into and and I took it as a summer class finishing with a C and much relief at the end of it.
IMG_9009.JPG
Anddd here's the book that your teacher always tells you to use, but you'll probably still get at least B's on all of your papers if you choose to ignore them anyways. Well I told myself I would show you guys 5 of my old college textbooks a day, and share a little background to the anxiety or subtle joy which they all gave me so here it is. What kind of textbooks did you guys read/utilize in your tenures of education? Did you find some of them to be a waste of time, or if you could go back would you re-read them even more thouroughly? I'd love to hear some of your guys' stories, so let me know in the comments!!

Thank you for taking the time to read and give feedback. :) and as always, have a great day!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by deburnay from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

it is painful how you're pressed with these thoughts that you will fail without these books. And then you never need them. At all... >_> Good post.

Man tell me about it. To be fair I think I never even had time to read anything because I was working a full-time job while going, but that wouldn't of really mattered either way since for almost all of my classes, the tests were based more so from the lectures, and less on the textbooks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65