You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reading books for free — The ethics of piracy in poverty

in #books7 years ago

Ha! I've never seen someone steal any of my paintings or writings, but here on Steemit with all the plagiarists, I know that they don't require a lot of quality. They like it, they take it and publish it under their own name. So I don't know if I'd take it as a compliment or as an insult (that they could claim to have a mind as great as mine... laughs in arrogance. lol)

Nah, Siriusly, I don't know what I'd feel but it's probably not the greatest compliment for me. :P

My problem with Project Gutemberg and the like is that I've tried to read old stuff and I think that Shakespeare is the only author older than 100 years that I can stand (that I've read so far). Also, my tastes go around sci-fi and post-modern fantasy. I think that these styles are recent enough not to have any proper examples in such a gallery. Unlucky!

But these days I've been trying to research a lot about writing styles, so I might head to Project Gutemberg anyway to check a lot of their books and compare the styles of the writers. :)

Sort:  

Lol... yes, plenty of plagiarists on steemit haha.

Yeah, some of the old stuff is tiresome to read. They got away with writing long, drawn-out sections on scenery, making it a bit slow for me. Shakespeare: oh, he's awesome but difficult to read. I remember the torture of this at school. His stuff was written for performance and I think that's how he's best enjoyed. Reading him is just painful for me :D

Sci-fi. I hear ya. I love the stuff, and speculative fiction. Maybe there'll be some early examples around in Guttenberg. Have you read any Philip K Dick or Margaret Atwood? They're great in their respective genres.

cheers

SIGNATURE.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64