A Great Book to Read When Dealing With Stress and AnxietysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #books8 years ago

Like many people, my life is full of ups and downs. There is happiness and peace, then, without warning, it looks as if everything is crashing down.

I have recently endured some tough circumstances, from dissolving a business I owned with a partner, taking a substantial financial loss, and seeing my family fight among themselves and destroy relationships. The past couple of months have been tough, to say the least.

As a result, I became depressed. So depressed, in fact, that I reached out for help. Of course I prayed often, but I needed some human interaction as well. So I spoke of my problems privately with our church pastor, and he recommended I read the book Overwhelmed by Perry Noble.

I love to read, so this was no difficult assignment. And I especially enjoy any text based on Biblical scripture. After reading just a couple of pages, I knew this book was going to be enjoyable.

Anyone struggling with debt, stress, or anxiety should give this book a read. It is based on the teachings of Jesus and the Bible. Every chapter I read allowed me to see the hardships of my life in a more positive way.

The author -- a pastor at a church in South Carolina -- is no saint. He is just a regular Joe Redneck who sins like the rest of us. He writes in a very humble and down-to-earth style, and includes several humorous stories from his life.

If you have read the book, or you read it in the future, let me know your thoughts. I really think everyone could benefit from the message this book offers. I pray that your circumstances will improve and that God will lighten your burdens.

Sort:  

Gee...your life sounds like mine - the situations, the family fights, the unrest. I'll have to check out this book . In looking online for him I noticed he was recently let go of his position as pastor. ?? Thanks for recommending it.

I wasn't aware of that. I hope you enjoy it!

I'll let you know!

Please do. I already passed the book on to my sister to read because I know she will benefit from it. I laughed out loud several times because of the personal stories he tells.

So it resonated with you - I love it when an author writes something that makes me laugh, or cry even. Let's get outside today and do something inspiring....and then write a blog about it. I'm going for a walk in the woods even though it's raining today....and cold, really cold. I NEED it.

I just spent the day cleaning up dead weeds and other yard debris, then burning it. Not much to blog about! But a productive day nonetheless.

RS and UV

I did not know about this, or the Christian aspect to your life. I had posted some on here using the #christianity tag and done some bantering on a few posts with @papa-pepper about same.

TY for the blessing at the end there, about lightening some loads, very nice of you.

TY again for the support on here, I am grateful

hmm...I'll have to check out the book too...but I think I'd also like to check out this pastor's life to make sure he walks the walk

Not a bad idea to thoroughly check him out. I knew nothing about him except for what he reveals in this book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67