You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: Truman | David McCullough

in #books6 years ago

Pretty fast paced and well-prosed review my friend. LOL, I had to laugh at pretty much the first line most surprising upset till 2016. That was an awesome start to a great review. I take it that I need to pick this one up. I actually usually enjoy eventful biographies, sometimes truth is stranger and more exciting than fiction.

Sort:  

I've been reading a lot more biographies these past few weeks than I used to. David McCullough is an amazing writer. And even beyond that I'm developing an appreciation for history with such a narrow focus. My TBR list has expanded with a bunch of biographies.

I thought that was a pretty good line myself. :-) Wasn't it Mark Twain who said something along the lines of "Fiction has one sole requirement over reality; it must be realistic." or was that Hemingway? Some cogent American, anyway.

lol, it sounds like it could be twain. He was a real interesting character. On quote of his that I love was in response to some editors trying to correct his grammar, he basically told them to keep their thoughts inside the mush of their decayed brains....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58836.39
ETH 2494.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44