You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is it important to read books ?

in #books7 years ago

Reading is practically the fundament of my existence. I've been reading constantly since I was a small child and will never stop. When I was growing up everyone in my family had a book they were reading at any given time and in down time during the day each of us would pick up our respective books. It's sad to me that anyone is shut out from the world of books by unfamiliarity, lack of reading in family background, early discouragement as a child, or simply lack of awareness of the vast treasures waiting between the covers.

I actually got in trouble at school in 3rd grade for "reading too much." My teacher called my parents in and told them that I read at every moment of the day except for in class - walking down the school hallways, eating in the cafeteria, standing outside at recess. I think it was an escape for me because I hated that particular school and for a long time didn't have any friends. That's another thing a book can do - take you away from any tedious or fearful situations you are in, at least for a temporary escape.

Thanks for doing something to encourage others to be readers.

Sort:  

Books can truly take you away if you really enjoy reading them ! I think that parents simply raise their children in a wrong way, never encouraging or introducing them to read a book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69