My Stack of Books.

in #books6 years ago

Hello friends, about two weeks ago @riverflows launched a challenge. She invited readers to share three books they are reading at the moment, I expressed interest at the time. I must admit I forgot all about it till I saw her reminder post. Now close to the deadline I humbly submit my list of three books.

These days I read ebooks because of the convenience. After work, on my way home, I can open my phone and read my book riding the bus without straining my eyes for light. Now let's get down to business.

The first one is a book by Danielle Steele,
Johnny Angel.

IMG_20180602_080145_634.jpg

I remember picking up my first book by the author at a young age. I was blown away by her ability to convey emotions through her writing. There was no dull moment Reading her book as I was seen smiling, laughing and at a point shedding a few tears. It was that moving.

My mother shook her head then when she saw my tears. She could not understand my tears over a novel, a movie she could understand. Since then, I have made it a point to pick up any of her books I could find.

Johnny Angel was given to me by a friend who so understands my love of novels. I finished reading a few days ago and I was not disappointed.

The story is about a boy by the name Johnny Peterson. He was a source of joy to all who knew him. His life was snuffed out on prom night shattering the hearts of his sweetheart, Becky and his family particularly his mother.

A little car accident which lands his mother, Alice in the hospital allows her see his ghost. Ghost Johnny stays around as he tries to heal the wounds he brought about by his death. He leads his parents, brother, sister and Becky out of their grief. This is a lovely tale hope healing and best of all, love.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's anthology 'The Thing Around Your Neck' is my second book.

IMG_20180602_075635.JPG

I have always enjoyed reading her books. Her style of writing is one of its kind. Here, she was able to tell short touching stories based in Nigeria. My favourite is 'The Headstrong Historian'.

The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3) by Rick Riordan is a book I picked up because of one of my twelve years old students. He loves reading about adventure and keeps pestering me for new books. I am proud to say I have instilled in him a love for books. His favourite genre is adventure.

Rick Riordan is a well known author. He wrote the Percy Jackson series and also Magnus Chase series among others. The Trials of Apollo is about the god Apollo who was punished by Zeus and made to become human. He is made an awkward teenager called Lester with a terrible last name(if you ask me). He meets Demeter's daughter, Meg who is like a thorn in his flesh.

IMG_20180602_075509_545.jpg

These are the books which I have read recently.
You can also share your stack of books with @riverflows.

Read about the rules here

All images were taken as screenshots on my phone.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Thanks for entering. I love Adichie's work - she is such a talented writer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66