You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Comparison: The Magellanic Cloud vs. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

in #books6 years ago (edited)

An author friend gifted to me "The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet," and it took me a long time to get into it. Once I did, I started liking the story. The ending was a bit of a cliffhanger, and some gender-shifting seems to occur, or shifting of sexual preference, which is fine, if you hadn't already formed other hopes for who ends up with whom. Several of the characters were sentient but not at all human, which seems tropey, because I've read so many stories where someone comes into possession of a starship, and the crew is comprised of assorted aliens with bizarre features. All in all, this was one of the forgettable novels I've read. Only a few rare stories really stay with me. Becky Chambers started out as an Indie Author, then got picked up by a big house publisher. I've read other Indies whose stories were more memorable (E.E. Giorgi, for one). The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet has been nominated for various awards and accolades, including the Baileys Prize for Women's Fiction, the Tiptree Award, the Kitschies Golden Tentacle and the Arthur C. Clarke Award. (I have not checked to see if the novel won any of these awards; I only saw that it was nominated for them.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90