Elantris

in #books6 years ago

Screenshot_20180718-235533.png

Just finished listening to Elantris by Brandon Sanderson. I've been working my way through all of Sanderson's books and have been really enjoying them. I didn't overly enjoy the man who narrated this novel but the book was good enough to overcome that burden.

As of right now there is no true sequel to Elantris as far as I know but I believe there is a novella set in the same world. I'm a bit surprised there haven't been more Elantris novels because the book definitely ends with the possibility of more novels. The ending isn't a cliffhanger by any means but there are absolutely more issues that will arise in the future for the main characters.

I felt this novel had a bit of a different vibe than the other novels in the cosmere. It felt closer to the mistborn novels for me and that could just be from them being written in the same time period. I enjoyed Elantris more than the original mistborn trilogy but would place it below Warbreaker and the Stormlight Archives.

I would definitely recommend Elantris to any Sanderson or Fantasy fans and look forward to more Elantris novels at some point in the future.

Sort:  

I have read/listened to both mistborn trilogies and enjoyed them but haven't read his other books.

Honestly I'd say Mistborn (first trilogy) is the worst series I've read by him and it was still quite good. Warbreaker and The Stormlight Archives are my favorites.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84