You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Read Between the Wines #7: Swords, Sorcery and Epic Fantasy

in #books6 years ago

Nice. I was heavily into Fantasy Fiction back when I was a teenager (before I discovered girls and alcohol) but I either didn't find these series or they were too daunting. I think that with a favourites list of Lord of the Rings, Dragonlance (6 books) and Shannara Chronicles (3 books?)....yeh, I was a pretty much a lightweight. Or maybe just a typical short attention span teen :)

Sort:  

I actually found LoTR pretty hard going as I do with most of Tolkien's work .

But you missed a lot of the Dragonlance books.. there's a total of 153 set in the Dragonlance universe! lol! Actually the only Weis & Hickman books I read were the Twins Trilogy and the Death Gate Cycle.. hey some chicks love fantasy :) Yes I have been known to play a bit of D & D in my uni days as well :) I have drawn the line at Cosplay though lol.

Aha, of course. Yes, when I was young it was just the Dragonlance Chronicles and then the Twins Trilogy. 6 books in total....then the glut of them came out when I was older I think. I was big on D&D there for a while too. It was all very influential in my youth. But I didn't even know what Cosplay or LARP was back then (I've never done either). I remember going to one medieval type bash-up but probably was done by 1988. That was well before the Fantasy genre really took hold, back when fantasy was only for nerds. It's practically mainstream these days! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42