"Surprise Me" by Sophie Kinsella- a Book Review

in #books6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3138.JPG
https://www.pexels.com/photo/adult-camera-couple-face-219616/

How well do you think you know your significant other? While some might argue that they know TOO much, there is always something new to learn as people grow and change both inside, and outside, of a relationship. In Sophie Kinsella's "Surprise Me" a woman named Sylvie finds herself in a more than comfortable enough marriage to Dan until they both realize they've committed to 60+ years of living together! Clearly daunted by the time commitment attempts are made to freshen up the ten-year marriage which go awry with both humorous and mixed results. In the end Sylvie and Dan discover more about each other than they bargained for when they thought there was no more to find.

IMG_3139.JPG
https://www.pexels.com/photo/adult-book-business-cactus-297755/

This novel is written from a first person viewpoint of Sylvie which gives the reader a good deal of insight into her character, and her line of thought, in how she changes and applies her worldview to her increasingly complicated life. The author also does a good job of notating small quirks between persons in a long term relationship that would otherwise be absent from those in a new one. It stands apart in the Romance genre as it portrays a couple who, while in a rough spot, are committed to successfully navigating life amidst raising young children, strengthening career paths, developing friendships, enriching family and balancing routine with their kind of romance. While I won't be keeping this novel for my own personal library (I'm more into fantasy, espionage and history) I will say that it is a far cry from a typical romance novel- and that's a GOOD thing.

~Bookleaf ~

Surprise Me

Thanks for reading this book review! If you have enjoyed it and wish to read future book review blogs be sure to follow me and share if you think it will be of interest to someone you know! Also, if there is a fictional book published in the last year you would like for me to review before you read, please leave the name of the book and the author in the comment section below. Feel free to just say hi! ;) I would love to meet you!

Sort:  

I love the first photo in your post. Such fun captured in those two people. Marriage is a strange thing - committing to live your entire life with someone is more than most people think about. It is something that more people need to think about.

I'm with you on not typically enjoying romance novels. I'm more into the practical books myself. Spies, espionage, real-world books, et cetera.

Keep posting!

Thanks for the encouragement! :) I agree. I think more people would wait a bit if they really thought about the implications.

Yes, that is true.

What genre are you reading? :D from this review I can see that you could like Gabriel's Inferno by Sylvain Reynard. My favorite book! I have suggestions for you for fantasy books but I don't know if you read that kind of books, because I highly recommend the Vampire academy series...

Hi zizzy-beth! I'm about to read a historical murder mystery for the next book review in a couple days.Building up the mystery portion of the library :) I'll add Gabriel's Inferno to my queue! I love anything along the lines of Lord of the Rings, but I did a post a few days back on a fantasy book having to do with fairies "The Cruel Prince" and I really enjoyed it. Robert Ludlum books like the Bourne Series are a general favorite and I have a whole section on Vampires and magic. I'll have to check out the Vampire Academy series too! What genre are you reading?

I can read anything that has romance in it! From fantasy and mystery to thriller, horror, any kind of action, crime... I should check Robert Ludlum! I need something new to read! 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53