You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smoking is Healthy and Economics is Real Science: A summary of "Ten Heresies of Finance"

in #books8 years ago

Thanks!

I presented a conference paper last week that goes along with this:

Orthodox economists place too much importance on the average, ignoring the impact of extreme events that lie outside the bell curve.

When trying to analyze peoples' economic behavior, it's tempting to approximate things by assuming that everybody is the same and acts like an "average" person. In my conference paper, I demonstrated a theoretical setting in which a population of identical people behaves qualitatively differently than a population of diverse people. If you apply off-the-shelf economic ideas assuming homogeneity, you'll be bewildered when people behave in a vastly different way.

My research can be found at my website, the particular paper is called "Avoiding Perverse Incentives in Affine Congestion Games," in Proceedings of 55th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control.

Sort:  

You're welcome! Sounds interesting, I'll check it out. Your explanation reminds me of Taleb's concepts of Mediocristan and Extremistan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67