The Kill Order

in #books8 years ago

The best books are not those with happy endings but the ones that make your blood boil and make you silently scream from joy or despair. You sympathize with their characters and relate to them; you cheer for them and want to help them through their trials and hopeless situations because they are real to you; they are your new best friends and you don't want to see them harmed or dead. But not all good stories have a happy ending. Just like in real life, our favorites and darlings are robbed of their choices, and instead of laughing and celebrating their victories with them, we end up with tight throats, moist eyes and swallowing tears.

The Kill Order by James Dashner is a high-paced octane-fueled dystopian science fiction thriller. In the story of survival of the human race on the Earth devastated by solar flares, chances are so slim that they almost equal to zero. Those (not necessarily the lucky ones) who managed to survive the scorching effect of the Sun that melted the glaciers and flooded the East Coast of the United States with a tsunami of boiling waters are yet to face the real trials.

In order to save the humankind, that is, a selected few, a deadly virus—known as the Flare—is released with the purpose of controlling the remaining population. The infection, though, very quickly escalates and is out of control, and the real battle for their lives starts for Mark, Trina, Alec, Lana, Deedee and their friends against the infected. 

The Kill Order is the first prequel book of the equally successful three novels in The Maze Runner series: The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure, and the fourth of five installments overall.

Without pretended modesty, I cannot wait to read the last installment, The Fever Code. I look forward to the new opportunity and satisfaction to remind myself of the Glade and the Gladers, the Maze, the Grievers, WICKED, the Flare, the Cranks, the Right Arm, the Immunes, the Bergs, the Post-Flares Coalition, Thomas, Theresa and all their dead and alive friends. For, each of these books in their own way shook me to the core, and this is what a good book should do to its readers.

Bernard Jan
www.bernardjan.com

Book cover source: Goodreads

Sort:  

I don't read much fiction, but your review makes me want to read it.

If I can give you a friendly piece of advice - I hope that in the future you'll consider posting your reviews exclusively to Steemit first, then later reposting to review sites such as goodreads. This helps Steemit search engine optimization, so people tend to upvote exclusive content more than content that has been posted elsewhere.

Thanks for your message, I never thought of that! Do you think this should apply to my website as well (in that case I won't be able to link it to the article here), or only to the other social networking platforms like Goodreads, LinkedIn, or Amazon, for that matter?

I truly hope you get to read some of James Dashner's work. In that case I would suggest to start with The Maze Runner; there is also a movie you can watch if you prefer motion picture instead. 🙂

As long as you post it to Steemit about a day before any other website, I believe voters will be more eager to vote for your posts.

The Maze Runner - thanks for the recommendation.

Thanks for the useful tip, will definitely consider your suggestion with the next posts.

And have fun reading and running through the Maze. 😉

I was thinking today about what we spoke and I think I will have to do simultaneous posts on my website and Steemit after all, because I need to link the posts here to my website in order to direct traffic to it. My website is also the source of my personal photos I use in the posts here. A big problem for me is that I cannot upload images directly on Steemit but have to find a link to them somewhere on the Internet (Goodreads for the book covers, for instance). And when my own photos are in question, they are first uploaded on my website and only then elsewhere. So, my future posts on Steemit will probably lag behind my website 5 to 10 minutes at most, if that much, which is not bad at all, and the readers and voters on Steemit will still be able to read fresh and new articles.

Sounds great. As long as they're new articles, I think you'll get more attention here.

Thanks for confirming my thoughts. Means a lot to get advice from someone more experienced and with more knowledge than I have. I really appreciate your input and effort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60