You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What It's Like To Be An Audiobook Narrator

in #books7 years ago

That was interesting. I am constantly amazed by the fact that again and again I find posts (writers) which are interesting, teaching me something new or they visit another fascinating world of the imagination of the author and then I find hardly anybody upvoted and there is no real comment (I discount those that say 'brilliant' well done' I liked it' etc.)

It was interesting listening to you in the Homes story taking on the voices of different characters. Then I had to smile when I saw you ask:

Also let me know if you're an author and you have a book which you might like produced.

I smiled because I tried to imagine you reading out my stories. My characters can alter their age at will, mostly the girls, are often girls, but then at times they are adults. I have a number of species who are close friends with the family, Greeks, Italians, Chinese (Taiwan) and so on who are all part of the group. Talk about 'being driven crazy', my books would drive you totally nuts.

A question if I may: When you get a book to read out, do you ever ask the author how he or she imagined the name being pronounced? For instance, a simple example: one of my main characters is a girl/woman who is called Cherine. I used the MS voice package for reading out a few paragraphs and became hysterical with laughter as it tried to pronounce names of aliens - but pissed off when it changed the name Cherine into something unrecognisable, except that it had an american accent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65