You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I'm Reading Right Now

in #books6 years ago

May I make the suggestion of reading CS Friedman's work? The adult, not YA. I find her work to be very descriptive and rich. It's wildly different than Gaiman, but rather different all the same.

Sort:  

Please always make readings suggestions! I will definitely check her out, many thanks

They are out of print, but I would also suggest David Gerrold's War Against the Chtorr series. The series is unlikely to be finished - David is now 72 - but the books are really, really thought provoking. The 3rd book is..traumatizing on many levels, but, again, very thought provoking.

Gerold is famous for, when as a young man, he wrote the famous original series Star Trek episode entitled "The Trouble with Tribbles."

That said, the War Against the Chtorr, is not a happy tail. It's dark, really dark, but you might call it a dark purple. Or crimson.

Read the books and you'll understand why.

Again, for that third book, keep something that keeps you mellow nearby. And, at least for me, I had to take sips of that book's prose the first time. Even now...oy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49