You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book review: Villette by Charlotte Brontë

in #bookreview6 years ago

Wow, Atlas Shrugged. I've never attempted that one. That's a great idea having the audio book as well. What sort of device are you listening on? And do you find it's a pain skipping forward to find the place where you left off reading the paper version?

Totally know what you mean about the challenges of putting books down. True story: I accidentally missed a work shift for my first job because I started reading the Twilight series at the wrong moment. You'd think I would have learned my lesson, but even these days I have to prevent myself from reading a really engrossing book if I have a pressing work assignment or other duties. Also have to keep away from them at bedtime or I never get to sleep. I keep a more challenging book by my bed for that very reason because then I know I'll probably be ready to put it down and go to sleep after a chapter or so.

So glad you rediscovered Pride & Prejudice. I was only something like 13 when I read it the first time with my Mum (home-schooling rocks!) and loved it even back then. <3

Sort:  

Yes, the audio book is a lifesaver. It's a bit of a pain skipping forward to find where I left off when switching from one media to the other, but it really only takes me a few seconds.

Haha! Missing work becuase you were reading! Wait until I tell my oldest, @Tonks. She is a total bookworm, like me. She just got a Kobo e-reader for her birthday. I still prefer a real book in my hands, but she goes through books faster than I can get her to the library so this will buy me a few more days between trips! Wildstyle was just asking about you the other day. We've been so busy I haven't had time to help them post on their @crowbarkids account, but they still remember your comments to them and they really appreciated it.

Ahh the joy of one's first e-reader! I remember when I got mine in 2010 - a huge, chunky Kindle that my parents ordered for me from your side of the pond. I had to have an adapter so I could charge it in the plug sockets over here. I still prefer real books too, but there's nothing like the convenience of having a big library that fits in your hand. Especially when you travel a lot or live far from the nearest library/bookshop.

Ahh that's nice. I enjoyed the interactions with them too and look forward to reading more posts at some point when you've all got time. You've all got so much on the go but that's the way it should be. :)

Yes, I prefer a real book too! My husband is always trying to convince me to go digital with everything, ditch the CD's, photos, etc, but I like something tangible in my hand. Especially with books, however even after having built-in bookshelves along our staircase, and having given away a few boxes prior to the move, we're still overflowing with books, so I can see the value in a device that stores 2000 titles with barely using any battery power. However, it's glued to her. She has it open next to her while doing the dishes. If she stops doing something for just a minute, her nose is in it. Lol! I can't blame her, I was the same way, but I feel I need to teach her a bit about moderation too. 😉

Aww, I'm happy for her. There are certainly worse passions to have. But maybe some of your golden advice about being present in the moment wouldn't go amiss. ;)

I have to say I really miss CDs. These days I stream everything from Spotify, but there was something really meditative about buying a CD, opening the case and putting it into the machine. It was like, you had to make more effort to choose and put on the music, so you made more of a commitment to listening to it.
"Now I'm going to listen to THIS album. And REALLY listen to it."
Now, with a whole world of music at my fingertips I feel like I'm less focused and I don't make as much effort to listen to things that don't immediately touch me. Shame.

Haha aaaaand I hear myself sounding like an old person and moaning about the good old days. I'm super grateful to have such broad access to music. Let's keep things in perspective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59020.34
ETH 2514.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47