Nectar in Sieve (a short book review)

in #bookreview7 years ago (edited)

Nectar in Sieve made me realize that the agricultural situation in the Philippines is not an isolated scenario. It is also happening in India, a country that suffered the same fate as most Asian countries did, was conquered and ruled by Europeans. This has opened my eyes to a different kind of culture yet so much alike with our societal issues. When I said different I am referring to their food, dresses, marital rituals, child bearing and others I may have failed to mention. When I said similar, aside from the agricultural scene, like plowing the field they do not own, Indians have a prejudice towards prostitution.

This tale is about the duress of a married peasant woman and how she handled every endeavor their family went through. She took me to a journey (perfect mix) of sadness and beauty of womanhood, marriage and motherhood.

For those people who want to witness the kind of life the ordinary Indians had this novel can definitely transport you to an era of poverty, famine to almost giving up to hoping again.

And I must say, this novel moved me to tears at the very end.

If you have read this book, I would love to hear your thoughts about it. Or, if there is any book you would love to recommend, please let me know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88