You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: Meet Clara Andrews by Lacey London

in #bookreview6 years ago

Good review and sounds like a beach read - except I'm not going to read it because who needs all that guilt piled on them?

I agree with your assessment of the characters and poor/stupid Clara - with friends like that who needs enemies?

Can you think of a book with a strong female character? Maybe in the same type situation but handled differently?

Sort:  

It was fun until it started piling guilt and stuff. Was almost too mad too read for a couple of the chapters lol.

Hmm, that's an interesting question. I've only started reading novels and such last year (i have missed a lot, I know), and since a couple include gay couples, there's even less female characters. None were in a similar situation to this.

A book that comes to mind with an empowring female character would be Freedom's Fate which is totally different, as it is sci-fi and there are more relatable issues such as coming-of-age and a drive for the 15/16 year old protagonist to become captain. There are queer characters, a wide diversity of characters and backgrounds (religions, beliefs) and there was much more character depth than to stereotypes. And it isn't as even a strong female character is perfect and undefeatable, but she (and other characters) have diverse set of skills, e.g. tech/engineering, which are not typically led by women. Likewise, there are also important male characters, but it is not favoured in any way and is quite realistic of society.

Sounds interesting - I'll check it out. And only $2.99 on Kindle!

It really goes down as my favourite book (then again, I haven't read as many books). I just could relate so much more. I find that might have been a factor as well. Plus, it's an indie author, super talented and totally down-to-earth and nice when I approached her on twitter. She looked forward to hear what I have to say on her newer book which I have read a chapter so far :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64