Book Review: Trainride Elsewhere (A Poetry Collection)

in #bookreview7 years ago (edited)

trainride elsewhere.jpg
Image source: Amazon

Trainride Elsewhere
by John Thompson


Book Details

Title: Trainride Elsewhere
Author: John Thompson
Genre: Poetry
Length: 159 Pages
Publisher: Pressed Wafer
Publication Date: 10th August 2016
Format Available: Paperback
ISBN-13: 978-1940396194
Price: USD15
Other Notes: Currently has eight reviews on Amazon, each of them gave a 5-star rating.

Amazon Blurb

John Thompson's first book of poetry is not, in poet Christopher Bursk's words, "an easy read. It teases us with hard questions, takes us into troubling parts of our soul we'd like to pretend don't exist, draws us to get our footing in lines that seem to shift under us and taxes the limits of poetry and of our own minds. Flick on the light of your miner's helmet. Join this poet and dig deep."

Review

I'm giving this collection 5-stars! I will go through the aspects that make this collection a masterpiece.

Naked Poetry

Firstly, the emotional content of the poems. They are raw. They are deep. They are naked. The words lay the poet's heart in your hand. You can see it. You can feel it. John Thompson is not shy to reveal his personal experiences. These include relations with family members, sexual and intimate relationships, and prison experience, amongst others. One of my favourite pieces from this collection is "a father" (p. 46) - it left quite an impression.

a father

your head is rolled
in oil & caught aflame
like a torch; now
i can see you from the far away
where you usually are
out of reach

Divine Word Selection

The selection of words is a work of a genius. The imagery is divine - it is worth noting that some poems include vivid erotic or macabre descriptions. They paint the picture clearly, and I am sure that noteveryonee is ready to read poetry with such heavy tones. As Bursk says in the blurb, we have to be comfortable with ourselves to enjoy this collection to its full extent. No animals were harmed in the writing of the following poem (mary & her little lamb, p. 122).

mary & her lamb

mary has a little lamb
its fleece, white as snow

mary takes it to the slaughter house
& watches the butcher take its soul

its blood runs red, its fleece is shed
its body hangs like a wet towel

mary had a little lamb
she takes its lamb chops home

Power in Each Poem

Something which I found remarkable was that each poem spoke for itself. Sure, it is a collection which is cohesive. That did not distract John Thompson from individualising each poem. The form used is unique, specific for the tone and message of the poem. Some poems are only two lines long, and others are dispersed over two or three pages. Each poem, no matter it's length, gave a lot of substance on which I could reflect. To show this, I am including my absolutely favourite poem from the collection (the greenman, p.93).

the greenman

there are flowers
that grow from your mouth.
they rip
your lips, your smile
widens---
your teeth glimmer through blood,
small stones
in a red river. they touch your eyes
& taste your lens: tender,
they are vulnerable. your irises
smear under the pressure.
your skull fractures
& blooms. roots grow
from your nostrils. your body
becomes large leaves.

Summary

Overall, this collection is a work of a mastermind poet. It is one of those gems that you put on your bookshelf and look through from time to time. Comparing it with other poetry books I have read, I would put this as one of the best. It is longer than the usual collections that I have read, and it keeps escalating and remains interesting throughout. No form or theme is overly-used, and each poem was freshly served.



Disclaimer:


I know the author of this book through allpoetry.com. He emailed me a free PDF copy of this book. Having said that, this review is as honest as I can be, and it reflects my perception of the collection and not any bias I hold towards it or the author.

I received permission from the author to publish this review, including the poems featured.

Sort:  

This is a great review. The examples of John's work that you have shared show a diverse range and talent. The Mary and her lamb certainly made me think. The quality here is appealing. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the comment! As a writer, I know how much I appreciate the feedback, so I do my best to write accurate and honest reviews of books I do read. The quality of the poems I've attached speak more than I did about the poetry :) Kudos to John

I am glad you enjoyed his review of my book and enjoyed his examples 😄 it took me a bit but i have found my way here. Hope you will explore my poems i post here!

Welcome, good to have you here. Thanks for letting me know you've arrived (and made it through Steemit's waiting period). I'll keep an eye out for your work.

His poetry is very powerful, raw, intense, I like his style, good post

Thank you for the comment. I agree - I love his poetry! I can't wait to read his next book.

I am glad you enjoyed his review of my book and enjoyed his examples 😄 it took me a bit but i have found my way here. Hope you will explore my poems i post here!

I have included this post in this weeks edition of The Library - a new curation post for writers and readers. Thanks for the great article.

Thank you! The Library post was a great read (I was so prompt to read it, I know) haha. I really appreciate being included <3

You're the greatest and i am truely honored you enjoyed my collection.

Took me forever to figure it out haha but i will post poems here and advertise

It takes some while to get used to, but it's totally worth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54