You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: Freedom's Fate

in #bookreview6 years ago (edited)

Interesting review Jeremy. The take-away for me centers on the consistency of human behavior. No matter past, present, or future, people have, do, and will continue to pass judgement on our fellows/peers. Other behaviors that manifest as a result are vast but seemingly predictable and tend to lean toward the negative. I am a reader also, I love to hold the physical book, turn the pages, feel the paper, and carry my current read around with me. I have read many articles but no e-books to date. I have not read many sci-fi books, I gravitate toward conspiracy type research works focused on financial, political, technology, and the military industrial complex (love that term). More than a small percentage of what I read, reads like sci-fi, scary stuff as well as interesting. You say thank you for reading, I say thank you for writing. Best.

Sort:  

Thank you to you too (again) haha! I was born into the digital age and even for studying, I use e-books when I can. There's an ease to it.

Yes, you are right. Human behaviour is consistent, to a certain extent. I just would have hoped that the issues would be different, at least. Make it more sci-fi related. Actually, there was a type of evolved argument which I liked, where the 'religious' people wanted to return the ship to Earth and wait for Doom's Day like God wanted. There it's an evident contrast between Religion/Nature to Science but it is presented in an adapted manner.

I am not big on many who provide information via Ouija and other metaphysical sources of contact Jeremy but was referred by a friend to: Messages From Michael (Yarbro, 1980) and find it to be an interesting read. This one is not creative writing, it is presented as a transcript that I accept as presented. I do not question that our guides communicate by many ways and means although I am not so sure about the authenticity of many works that are claimed to be authentic. Messages From Michael did not provoke any real suspicion as I read it, I was actually comfortable with the decree of authenticity. I have also enjoyed reading Joseph Speaks and other books by Michael Reccia. Best.

I don't want to ignore this message, because you really put time in it - but - I'm not into that kind of reading. For two main reasons:

  1. I am still recovering from being raised in a religious household. Part of the 'rebelling' nature there would make me reject readings that suggest spirituality even if they appear authentic.

  2. I'm currently tired with 'reading'. I mean it in the sense that I have been reading so many scientific articles and books for university (doing my final year), that when it comes to leisure reading, I attempt to go for fictional material (unless it's poetry).

I hear you Jeremy, I can relate on a couple of levels as a recovering Catholic and I recently completed my Masters, I remember clearly what a work out it was. For the record most of what I read could pass for sci-fi/fiction, what I choose to read is, generally speaking, well researched material that exposes how the scoundrels in positions of power and authority continually deceive the masses. I also enjoy spending time reading geologic historical researchers (e.g. Immanuel Velikovsky). Be careful not to close the door too tight, you could miss valuable, even liberating, information. Best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50