The BEST 3 PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLERS you definitely HAVE TO READ


Source

If you read my previous post, you already know that I’m a big fan of psychological thrillers. Today, I will recommend you the best 3 books that belong to this genre that, for me, are simply THE BEST ONES! I usually read before going to sleep, and I swear I couldn’t go to bed before finishing these books. They just kept me reading and reading, and promising to myself I would only read one more chapter. Yeah, well, I repeated that to myself until I finished the book and the sun was already shining again. Without further ado, let’s find out which ones these amazing books are.

3. We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

Although this book officially belongs to the category “young adult fiction”, this story looks pretty much like a psychological one. This story is told by the protagonist whose name is Cadence Sinclair. She starts telling about her life, and especially about her summers. Each summer, she goes to this private island owned by her grandparents, and has a lot of fun with the so-called “the Liars”, who are her cousins and friends. This repeats itself until Summer Fifteen, when she has an accident and from that moment on, she cannot remember anything about what happened that summer, and her mother refuses to tell her what actually occurred that day. Two years after the accident, she returns to this island and realizes that some things look different and the Liars behave in a weird way around her, as if they were keeping secrets from her.

You guys need to read this book until the end, since Cadence starts remembering everything that happened that summer, including how she had that horrible accident and why her friends are acting the way they are. The ending of this story is just AMAZING. Personally, I believe this is a really original story, the reader get really into it given the fact that it feels like the protagonist is telling you personally her story and her feelings.

2. Before I go to sleep – S. J. Watson

If you like to feel the tension of not knowing what it is going to happen in a book, you have to include this one into your “must-read list”. How would you feel if every time you woke up, you forgot everything about yourself? Terrifying, huh? Well, this is the case of a woman named Christine Lucas who cannot remember anything about her and about her life every time she wakes up. It is like, during the night, her brain resets itself and it is completely in blank. However, she keeps a diary where it is written everything she needs to remember: her name, her age, and other details like she’s married with a man called Ben, and also that she’s visiting a psychologist who’s helping her to recover her memory. BUT, on one of the pages it is written something incredibly terrifying: DON’T TRUST BEN.

Ok, so WHY CAN’T SHE TRUST HER OWN HUSBAND? You guys already want to know the reason why, right? Yeah, I know. That was exactly what happened to me the night I started reading this book. Each chapter finishes and you will end up like REALLY? DOES THIS CHAPTER END LIKE THIS? And you will not stop reading, I swear.

1. Therapy – Sebastian Fitzek

I have to admit that this is my FAVORITE book ever. This story is focused on the psychiatrist Viktor Larenz, who has a 12-year-old daughter that suffers from some psychological issues, and one day, she disappears from her doctor’s office. Four years have passed, and with no trace of where her daughter is, Viktor decides to stay in an isolated cottage where he intends to write an article about her daughter’s disappearance. During his stay, he meets a writer named Anna Glass who claims that her characters can become real and one of them looks exactly like Viktor’s daughter, and she tells him she has some answers about her disappearance.

So, is this woman actually serious or is she losing her freaking mind? Does Viktor believe her? Or does he know there’s something wrong with her? Guys, I seriously got goose bumps when I got to the end of this book. I DID NOT expect that to happen. This book is absolutely a masterpiece.


There you have the three best psychological thrillers you could ever read in your life. What are you guys waiting for? Go read them ASAP! They’re totally worth it, and believe me; you won’t regret a single second spent reading them. Tell me in the comments if you have already read any of the books above and your opinion about them (WITHOUT SPOILERS, don’t do that to those who haven’t read them yet. Seriously, that could be consider a crime). If you have other book recommendations of this kind, leave it on the comments too. I would totally read them and give you guys my opinion.


Write to you soon again!

Claudia Gentile

Sort:  

Congratulations @claudiamgentile! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @claudiamgentile! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42