You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dostoyevsky's THE IDIOT Chapter I & II - Steemit Bookclub Launched!!!

in #bookclub7 years ago

Thank you @anna89 for starting :) Great article!

It's funny because I had more or less the same quotes in mind when I read the two chapters. The guillotine especially... It's clear that the State Executions are playing an important role for the awakening of Muishkin (not to mention Dostoyevsky's!).

I didn't realize that Rogojin is in effect the exact antithesis of Muishkin, even physically! Well observed! Moreover, he comes back to inherit a fortune... While Muishkin comes back to... nothing at all!

The character which was the most curious for me was Lebedev... He is like a comical caricature, ridicule but he has knowledge. A kind of buffoon!

Moreover in my version of the book he is called a "Tchinovnik" several times, and I have no idea what's that. Maybe a Russophone here can help? @taliakerch maybe? :-)

Sort:  

Thank you very much!!! I'm glad we had the same quotes in mind! What Muishkin says there, is a reflection of Dostoyevsky's view on the matter and I'm sure that it reflects the feelings that he had from the situation that he had been through. Lebedev is indeed a caricature, but I think books need someone like him to advance the plot! I had no idea about that, I would like to know too what "Tchinovnik" means!

I read Idiot a few years ago in original. Tchinovnik in russian "чиновник" means clerk. Btw, @herverisson - great initiative!

oh...why aren't there any settings to receive reminding when somebody writes about you?(
I miss much interesting because of this!
I have never seen it had a title Tchinovnik...so it's a mystery, we must find the history of this book I think

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65