You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“™ Dostoyevsky's THE IDIOT Bookclub - Book I, Chapter 3,4,5.๐Ÿ“™๐Ÿ“š

in #bookclub โ€ข 7 years ago

You gave us a really great overview of the chapters. I have to say that I enjoyed the most Chapter 5 because of the answers and the stories told by Myshkin.

Of course Chapter 4, that is like a backstory, gives us a lot of info about Nastasia, but in Chapter 5 some views and experiences of Dostoyevsky's himself come into the surface.

Also a memorable quote for me, regarding the story about the man sentenced to death, was the following: "The repugnance to what must ensue almost immediately, and the uncertainty, were dreadful, he said; but worst of all was the idea, โ€˜What should I do if I were not to die now? What if I were to return to life again? What an eternity of days, and all mine! How I should grudge and count up every minute of it, so as to waste not a single instant!โ€™ He said that this thought weighed so upon him and became such a terrible burden upon his brain that he could not bear it, and wished they would shoot him quickly and have done with it".

Another one is the dialogue of Aglaya and Myshkin, when Aglaya states that "one cannot live and count each moment; say what you like, but one cannot. That is true, said the prince, I have thought so myself. And yet, why shouldnโ€™t one do it?"

Finally, I think that we haven't learned yet the advice Myshkin wants from the General, he tries like four times to ask him but never succeeds!

Sort: ย 

You are right: obviously Dostoyevsky draws on his own experience in Siberia to speak about that death penalty subject and what goes through the mind of a man condemned to death... That makes the chapter stand out and become more serious than the other ones.

And yes, i'm very curious too to know what it is that Myshkin wants to talk with the general!

Makes me looking forward to what will happen next!!!!!

Speaking of which... we need a new volunteer for next two chapters!

i will be the volunteer, but don't know exactly when I will have time for this(
if it's not limited in time, then I will be!)

Ideally, the best is to publish an article every week... So if you can have it this weekend, like sunday, it would be perfect :) if it's too short, let's keep you for the next round (chapters 8 and 9)?

Actually, you know what? forget my previous comment: take all the time you need and publish when you are ready :) It's not a race! And it will leave everybody time to catch up probably :-) Thank you @taliakerch!!!

ok)) thank you! really have a wish to participate but now life is speedy) I will let you know when I am in))

Take your time :-) Looking forward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32