You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Babble #6: My take on… "On Writing" by Stephen King

Thanks for this post. I do try to follow a lot of Mr. King's advice (generally -- haha, adverb) But I also feel like a lot of what he says also applies specifically to his genre-- not just fiction, but suspense, mystery and thriller fiction. For example, you don't want a bunch of fancy words that slow down the action when the scene should fly past you because it's exciting.

I have learned a lot from him, and I do respect him. I also marvel at how much he contemplates "the question of evil," but hey, that's his muse!

I've also found that sometimes writing something for fun alone is a great way to balance out the stress of producing a big novel. That's why I started a parody called "The Devil Plays Mr. Darcy" on my blog @JoyLovesToWrite.

I'm happy you're keeping the BookBabble tag going! It's one that deserves more attention!
Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks @joylovestowrite!

I agree, a lot applies to his 'sector' of writing. That's the thing, fancy words may fit in another context but you can't have them slowing down a plot as you say. Writing for fun alone is also a good way to go and I'll be sure to check out your blog! Mr King is certainly a complex character… but I guess that applies to a lot of writers (and other creatives)… or their muses anyway haha.

Thanks for stopping by and I do plan to continue with the book babbling ;)

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73