You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Babble #10: “Way of the Wolf” by Jordan Belfort

in #bookbabble6 years ago

Yeah, it's a sense of perspective.

I think manipulation is a little different as it implies bad intent (ie. getting someone to do something not in their best interests, and for the gain of the influencer). Sales and persuasion in themselves are neutral concepts and can be used for good or evil, like most things out there. The key is benefitting everyone involved, and as such is a skill worth developing… or at least having an awareness of.

As for the Wolf-man and those of his ilk - I can see where you're coming from. We like genuine and authentic people, and there are those people and places that do not give us a comfortable feeling. On the flip side, I believe there is something to be learned from all. We don't need to become Jordan Belfort (or even like him), but we can take some of his (and others) wisdom and perhaps apply our favoured aspects to our business/life, whilst remaining true to ourselves and our values. Or it could just be a little kick up the ass to get us moving.

I wasn't sure what that @trufflepig thing was but I saw it was a bot that shared my post within an article. I don't think it gained any extra exposure, but yes, I'm all for bringing the better content on the platform to the fore… and higher payouts would be delightful! ;)

Sort:  

Hi, I'm the author of @trufflepig. The bot is still in its infancy and I hope it gains more traction in the near future. People already started delegating steem power to the little fella. So in the future it's hopefully not only just more exposure for good articles like yours by being listed in the bot's toplist, but direct payout due to @trufflepig's upvote.

Awesome, thanks! I'll keep an eye out for his antics! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49