BOOK REVIEW: "PURPLE HIBISCUS" BY CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE.

in #book6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180421_120826.jpg
Photo credit: @uche-nna.

PURPLE HIBISCUS is a book I feel in love with right from the start, because of the way it makes me swing in emotions. It pop's up all the feelings in me (Anger, happiness, sadness and also the power of love)

Thanks to @edith4angelseu, @adedoyinwealth, @limabeing, @teamgirlpowa, and @beanz. For motivating me to do a review on this book too, after my first book review.
Also @gee1, you ain't left out too. Thank you because you remains me of the Igbo cultures in this book, when I read that your Igbo-whatsapp-status on thursday.
I was so proud of my language 😊😊.

 **About the book** 

The book is fixed in post-colonial Nigeria and talked more about a precocious and intelligent fifteen-years-old girl Kambili Achike, as she strives to maintain her autonomy in a patriarchal culture.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, talks about the symbol of freedom and independence, while also citing the theme of silence and speech and bringing up the things we face in our Nigerian politics up to today.

We see everything in this novel through the eyes of Kambili, so there is no thorough description of the political situation, but in this way Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie more poignantly shows us, how corruption and violence affect even children in our society at large.

The novel begins on palm sunday(Breaking God's), when Jaja refuses to receive communion at the church, and his father (Eugune Achike) throws his missal, breaking their mother's beloved figurines.
There after, Kambili explains the events leading up to what happened before that scene.

Some Of The Main Characters.

  • Beatrice Achike
  • Eugene Achike
  • Chukwuku Achike
  • Kambili Achike
  • Father Benedict
  • Sisi
  • Ade Coker
  • Papa Nnukwu
  • Aunty Ifeoma
  • Amaka
  • Obiora
  • Chima
  • Father Amadi.

Among all these characters, I would say Kambili and Jaja that got my love the most, because I saw so much of myself in them especially Kambili, the reticent life she lived reminds me of my till now. All because of the family I came from was her type but we weren't affluent like hers.

Talking about Jaja I wouldn't be sad or mad at him, if he was agnostic or an atheist. Because his dad caused it.
It reminds me of the saying

"too much of everything is bad".

emphasizing on been agnostic or an atheist, Some people might ask "what's the point of atheism?".

But remotely, atheism scores no point. There is no position in asking questions, evaluating evidence and trying to be who you really are than what the society expects you to be.

For me, part of the benefits of leaving religion(in jaja's case), to become an atheist was that I think he found his life back, I feel he was able to make choices and decisions for himself, and actually examine what he value, because the religion he was part of (this is not about every religion, but the religion he was part of) taught him to behave in some certain ways and if he wasn't, he will be awful, sinful and wrong. He actually had to suppress myself to keep up with some model they've made that really doesn't amount to human reality.

PS: I ain't agnostic or an atheist. Am just saying my own thoughts on the case of Jaja.

IMG_20180421_121409.jpg
Photo by @uche-nna.

PURPLE HIBISCUS is just the definition of "with books you can travel to many places".
If you haven't read it, please do. I bet you would love it especially those proud of been an African.

About the Author.
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a writer, mother, advocator and a feminist, whose works has been translated into thirty different languages.
She's the author of

  • HALF OF A YELLOW SUN
  • THE THING AROUND YOUR NECK
  • PURPLE HIBISCUS (Her first novel)
  • AMERICANAH
  • WE SHOULD ALL BE FEMINIST.

please if you haven't gotten what feminism is simply all about. watch the video below by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie in one of the most popular language in Nigeria (pidgin english).

Now you see why we should all be feminist .

Thanks For Reading And Watching 💙💛💙💛💙.

DQmTK8JqQ6nG8EWdhVfttB9gsjJJePQK2LxzciQhsBSBSRw.png

Sort:  

This review makes me want to go get the book now, because it steems it might be interesting..

Yes, you should because it really is..

Okay thank you..
but please where can I get the book?

You can get it at any book store or outlet around you.
Like me I do order them online..

Okay thanks alot for helping me out..

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Lovely Uchenna, you do these reviews so well. Kudos

Smiles 😊😊..
Thanks Ma..
You keep me going..
And I would be doing another one titled"half of a yellow sun" by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.
Am sure you must have read that one..

Thanks @sumsum007 for stopping by..
Do come again..✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48