Digital GOLD! ( book recommendation )

in #book7 years ago

I remember that my mother used to say to me when I was in high-school that this is a great moment to read as much as you can and create a habit because you will not have time to read as much as you please when you are older.
I did not believe her and truth be told, It was not the case for me in the last year. No matter what, I always found time to read and enjoy a lot of books. I credit this habit to my parents but I also really enjoy reading. However, the last few months have been so intense and busy that I rarely managed to open a book, and usually just to use it as a pillow. Snooor!

But, I did get a good recommendation and I want to pass it forward!

It's basically a thriller because the story of how BTC came to be is really fascinating. I mean everybody knows that Satoshi came and gaveth and left and here we are but I think that many don't realise - and I certainly did not realise myself! - that the road from an idea, a piece of code to the crypto madness of today was vey long, thorny and on the brink of failure. But somehow...here we are!

It's a testamnet to the early community but also to a few people that really believed in it early on, against all odds and against all that society told them. You need to read about these heroes and some of them are still very active today. You know their name but you really don't know that their legacy goes waaaay back. I didn't.

Some are lost in the past but deserve to be remembered.

Even if you don't care about history there's a lot of action, twists, unexpected luck and downfalls and ultimately, we're talking about a huge amount of money being created out of thin air more or less. Value out of a consensus that this is valuable and fortunes being made ( and lost ). It has everything it needs.

There's this passage about the first person who installed the BTC software after Satoshi - Hal Finney - who was also the first person to receive a transaction from Satoshi. They didn't even called it mining back then, it was an option in the software " Generate Coins " . He pushed it, went to lunch, came back and had 50 BTC in his address.
What I REALLY loved about this scene is not only that .. wow..this man just made an insane amount of money ( about 0$ at the time ) and he is oblivious to how important this moment will become in time. But he actually was not oblivious at all! That's the beauty of it. He wrote:

In a congratulatory e-mail to Satoshi [...] he allowed himself a flight of fancy.
"Imagine that Bitcoin is successful and becomes the dominant payment system in use throughout the worlld, " he wrote. " Then the total value of the currency should be equal to the total value of all the wealth in the world."

The estimate that 1 Bitcoin could be as high as 10 million$. Even with the chances slim, are they really 10mil to 1 against? he wondered.

It's mind-blowing that a person could think so big so early in the game. And he wasn't the only one.

This is an important book that will become more and more important as BTC takes over the world...or if.
Must read for every crypto-head.
Go get it.

Sort:  

Ahaaam I just found my plane book :D I hope is entertaining as I dont want to fall asleep :)

it's pretty fun!!

thanks for sharing my man

I want to read it, where can I get this book?
Upvoted, following and resteemed

any bookshop and online :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72