Christmas Reading Tips - Part 1

in #book7 years ago

Here is the first part of a list of books I'm going to read in the next weeks. Why do I post it? Well, just to give to my followers some information. Maybe some of you will be intrigued by the books of my list. I don't know.

Obviously, I can't even say if those books are very good, or not, or really to forget. I've not read them yet. But I know the authors. And, of course, I know why I want to read those books.

I chose from my stack just books in English, or translated in English - but I'm going to read the italian translation, mostly.

Let's start with a French surrealist writer and ethnographer: Michel Leiris 

The Leiris' book I'm going to read is his most important work: L'Âge d'homme (Manhood). (Alt link)

In this book, which is an autobiographical story, there is an essay, "The Literature as Bullfight", where the author talks about his view on art and literature, comparing the activity of the writer to the bullfighter's one. It is a point of view on Literature and Art which is opposite to other's ones that consider Literature and Art as a game or a play.

The second and third book I'm going to read are two collections of stories by american writer Donald Barthelme, an author I really love. What can I see about Barthelme? Read it, that's all! The Barthelme's books I have on my desk now are "Amateurs" and "City life".

The fourth book I'll talk you about is a scifi and fun story. "The Crawling Terror" is an adventure of Doctor Who, by  Mike Tucker,  and I have not to add anything more. The 12th Doctor and Clara in a unpublished story!

The last book of this first part is an old novel: "Trilby" by George Du Maurier. It's a bohemien story about an old artist, Svengali, and a young woman. It anticipate the theme of the artist's life and its sense (Jean Paul Sartre wrote about it later in Nausea). Trilby was a very popular novel in the end of 19th century. It was adapted for the cinema seven times - the last one in Svengali (1983), a TV movie starring Peter O'Toole and Jodie Foster.

Next parts of my Reading Tips will be posted soon! :)

Merry Xmas!

Images sources: http://www.pantagrublog.com/2016/11/l-age-d-homme.l-incipit.html  http://blog-dominique.autie.intexte.net/blogs/index.php/2006/07/17/jeanne_d_arc_sado_maso  https://raggedclaws.com/2012/02/15/donald-barthelme-on-the-ugly-sentence/

Sort:  

That's an eclectic list for sure! Enjoy!

Great choices! I read a little Barthelme a while back and have been meaning to pick him up again... He's a master of the form.

Thanks for your recommendations! I'm on vacation and I have my days off, so I have time to read. I'm interested in "The Crawling Terror", I'll look for it in my nearest bookstore.
Thank you very much and merry christmas!

Wow that looks amazing! Nice work

this kind of comments will give you just some flags.

I said what I just saw bro
I liked your post and said so you do not like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39