#PinkItUp - Book Swap Box 4: Baby, It's (Not) Cold Outside

in #book4 years ago

PicsArt_01-06-04.14.04.jpg

The fourth, and last, South African Book Swap of 2019 took place in December and the theme was a combination of Christmas and summer vibes all in one: Baby It's (Not) Cold Outside. The reason for this particular play on words is because, in the Southern Hemisphere, we have Christmas in summer; and it is hot!!

If you would like to see the previous three book swap boxes, check out these articles:

Swap 1: No Theme: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/03/27/pinkitup-stalking-jack-the-ripper-handmade-goodies-to-send-as-gifts-or-keep-for-yourself/
Swap 2: Loadshedding Survival Kit: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/07/28/pinkitup-book-swap-box-2-loadshedding-survival-kit/
Swap 3: Second Time Around: https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/09/11/pinkitup-book-swap-box-03-second-time-around/

My partner this time around, Lee from octothorpereaderleorak on Instagram, likes the colour blue, is a Hufflepuff, adores mermaids and unicorns, and is super duper creative.

Since the theme was a little hard to find books with a theme-appropriate title, we decided that we would each buy books that were on our wishlists; so after many conversations with mutual acquaintances, and after answering a long questionnaire, I was able to get the books right off the bat.

PicsArt_01-06-04.23.33.jpg

This was the first box that I didn't actually make anything myself; we had about 3months to prepare for this, so I was able to stick to the budget by getting a few things each month, effectively not putting any pressure on the wallet.

So the first month, I got the books, a beautiful little tray (for her to use on her bookstagram) that says 'There's No Place Like Home' in pink and white and a three-pack of pens, one of which was blue.

Then, the next month, I found a beautiful Game Of Thrones inspired notebook and a pretty blue mug. I also designed a T-Shirt for Lee, Hufflepuff of course, and sent it off to be made; I also got a pack of coffee from BrewETC. (https://brewetc.com/)

I got all the final touches, including an awesome unicorn box and blue wrapping paper, in month three, and I tried to tie everything up all nice and neat; I got a beautiful sparkly unicorn patch, a pack of unicorn button badges (just for fun), a pack of unicorn themes washi tape and an adorable mermaid's tail keychain. These were the last items I needed and the box was complete!! Yay!!

PicsArt_01-06-04.17.21.jpg

Then, disaster struck!!!!!!

I got a call from the T-Shirt people informing me that their machine broke (at the last minute) and they wouldn't be able to get the replacement part in time to make it, so that was a bit of a downer... I tried finding another appropriate T-shirt online, but, unfortunately, there either wasn't anything nice or it was beyond my budget.

I spent days thinking of something to replace it with, wracking my brain and stressing out - I really was running out of time...

And then inspiration hit - what about a tote bag instead...

Although it's not Hufflepuff inspired, this beautiful tote screams Hogwarts nonetheless and I thought it would be a perfect replacement item!

PicsArt_01-06-04.15.01.jpg

So, the next day, I bought all the candy / snacks that I wanted to add, packed the box all nice and neat, added a handwritten letter and sent it right off.

Mission accomplished!!

Let me know in the comments below what your thoughts about this box are - did you love / hate it? Would you like to receive a box like this? What would you change about it? - and whether or not I hit the mark.

I have a video of how I put my box together on my YouTube channel if you'd like to have a look . Also, if you're wondering what was in the box she sent me, you can watch my unboxing video on YouTube here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68799.09
ETH 3831.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63