You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazon's Book Review Policy Punishes Authors, Rewards One-Star Bandits

in #book5 years ago

I'm re-thinking my choice to go on Amazon Select. At least it's only locked in for three months.

After this review debacle I've been investigating other platforms. Sure, they might not be as well-known as Amazon, but they are less flawed and more platforms can only be a good thing anyway. -- Have you heard anything about Gumroad? That was recently suggested to me and I added it to my possible-listings-list of April. At least then I can distribute to the amazingly large amount of people who don't use Kindle!

👀 😒 Also, I'm not entirely sure how set in stone those Amazon terms are. I see reviews all the time from people who evidently know the seller. "This review is based on a free copy received from the author before it was published." ... well obviously THEY were in contact with the author beforehand!! 👀

Sort:  

the amazingly large amount of people who don't use Kindle - I just might switch! If I can make sure the titles I bought will transfer to the new device.
This is the first time Amazon has done this to me, refusing to publish my review because I have (gasped!) emailed the author. That's' one reason I didn't take time to purge the review of any such clues. Still, I'm kicking myself for not having done so. But I beat myself up more routinely and more soundly than anyone else. My husband never needs to yell at me for some blunder, #1 because he's too cool to do that but equally #1 because he knows I'll always chastise myself more severely than anyone else. No, I've never heard of Gumroad. Sad to say, Amazon owns the lion's share of the market, but in putting out a new book, I would think it's better not to have it available ONLY on Amazone for the first few months. Then again, the 70% royalty. Then again, how many Amazon customers will buy our books anyway.... I'm glad you tested the waters here. You've given me second thoughts about going KDP with my NaNo November Madness novel. (Which I still need to revise. Urgently.)

I've found that a lot of people use the Kindle app on their phones/laptops/computers as well as the Kindle Reader Device thingee, but quite a few people are also interested in a PDF version. A lot of people don't realise that Kindle is an app as well as a device, which is the same camp I was in until recently. I'm glad I wasn't the only one who didn't realise! Feel less silly.

When the 3 months are up I'll still be on KDP, but not Select; will branch out. :) Select is only good for Kindle Unlimited and promotional periods, and so many people recommend it... but for a brand new no-name author... maybe not.

Also.

Don't beat yourself up!


It's not your fault Amazon are jerks. ;)

Your review was fantastic, and it's wonderful to see my story through the eyes of someone else! There's no way I could glow about my own words like that. I feel they were inferior compared to works I slave over, and that no one could possibly like the story because I didn't spend five years editing every sentence twenty million times.

You show me that I am wrong, and I appreciate you! 💕

You imastered the "fresh voice" and your comment (you didn't spend five years editing every sentence twenty million times) reminds me that too much editing can destroy the voice and momentum of a novel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53