Sort:  

Yes, it will affect it. But not in a good way. Ideally, you want your own platform. What happens if Steemit goes belly up? Or Medium? You may be given an opportunity to save your content, or you may not. Do you want to take that risk?

There's nothing wrong with these platforms. I am very active on Steemit and also post on Medium, but I want people to see my posting on my blog. The cool thing about both of these platforms is they each have a WordPress plugin that allows you to cross-post your content. Steemit has SteemPress and Medium has something similar. You can post to your authority blog and automatically have all of your posts publish to Medium and Steemit. Doing that allows you to reach those audiences on Steemit and Medium that are not likely to see your own blog. So there is benefit in doing that. But you want your own blog to rank in the search engines for important keywords that people actually search for, and that goes a long way to building your authority.

Wow thanks @blockurator for such a detailed answer! 😊 You really go the extra mile to help - and I'm ever grateful.

Yes, I fully see your point and am in agreement. I may start building my own blog now (:

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I do have one more thing to say about Medium. You can build an authority reputation on Medium through their Partner Program. I think this program was set up for people who want to earn money from their writing but don't want to manage a blog or domain name. It's perfect for people want to be writers and not publishers. Think of it as your own platform akin to having a New York Times column.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43